Ara Keshishian

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.96428571429 out of 5 with 183 ratings

Ara Keshishian Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS, FASMBS

Ara Keshishian Bariatric Surgeon Picture

18 yr Experience

18 yr in Bariatrics

18 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

18 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 13

Max Age of Patient is 75


183 Reviews for Ara Keshishian
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

What can I say. Almost 380 then, 200 now. He was straight forward with the risks and had a sense of humor when I joked. Not much though but enough to make you comfortable. Still alive 15 years later and 200lbs. Why you still reading :).

Sept. 22, 2017

0 of 1 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Best surgeon and doctor on the planet.

I traveled from Jacksonville, FL to Glendale, CA to have Dr. Keshishian do my revision RNY to DS, because he is the expert. I paid out of pocket, because it was important to me to make my own health decisions, and not let Aetna decide who, what, and how.

Not only is he the best at what he does. Dr. K is an awesome human being. Could not recommend more.

I have a little girl who is a cancer survivor. I could not take chances with my health or my life. I am a caregiver. I went to the right surgeon.

Thank you Dr. K, for giving me my life back!

Oct. 14, 2016

4 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I had my duodenal switch in Feb of 2001. Dr Keshishian is not only a highly superb surgeon, but he is unusual in his true caring of his patients. He is like family to me. He gave me life and has again saved my life on other occasions when my local doctors missed or wouldn't listen. He trusts that you know your own body and truly LISTENS to his patients. I cannot express how much I admire and yes, love this doctor! I would recommend anyone even considering a bariatric surgery, to at least speak to him and get a true idea of your options and what would be best for you individually.

Sept. 7, 2016

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

2016 Update: I had my DS surgery in 2001. I have maintained my weight loss and I am in great health. This has been accomplished (I believe) because....
1). Dr. K uses the Hess Method which basically honors, yet adjusts, my personal body's digestion mechanics.
2). Dr. K continues to be accessible to me and continues to educate me on how to walk through this DS Journey with the most current information.
3). I continue to access Dr. K and take advantage of his Blogs, Webinars, Facebook page, Website, Facebook Live, email, Group meetings..... By staying "in the loop" and continuing the TEAM relationship of Doctor/patient it keeps me making appropriate choices more often.
4). I made a brilliant decision in 2001 with my choice of Surgery and Surgeon. This is a FOREVER kind of decision and Dr. Keshishian continues to guide me through each stage. My respect for him continues to grow.

Sept. 1, 2016

2 people found this helpful

Overall

2 previous reviews. « hide

Just a bit of an update. Surgery was 12 years ago. My BMI is in the normal range. I am healthy, I have never had a major DS issue. I don't 'diet'...but do try to make good choices. I take my supplements. I still attend occasional support meetings and DS online support groups to stay "in the know". I no longer do regular office visits with Dr. K...but still feel he is available to me by simply attending a support meeting or dashing off a quick question email. Thought someone would appreciate hearing from someone who is a DS Dinosaur. (haha)

April 13, 2013

4 people found this helpful

Overall

My first contact to the office of Dr. K was by email. To my utter surprise Dee Tinkle called me at home. We had a long talk with her answering my many questions. At no time did I feel like Dee was trying to "sell" me on the surgery. She was just answering my questions and letting me form my own opinions. I then attended a support group meeting. Dr. K was there and answered many questions. What struck me, was his honesty. Once again, not trying to "sell" the surgery, just answering the questions. And If he didn't know the answer he said "I don't know" an honest reply. When I had my consult with him, I felt like a human being on his table. He asked questions and really listened to the answers. He isn't just willing to talk to your support people, he wants to. I felt like he wasn't just doing surgery, but treating the whole person. While I was in the hospital, Dr. K popped in several times a day. He is coming in and checking on you, not just reading about you from a chart! Dr. K is building a practice at Delano that is starting to explode. He has excellent surgical skills combined with bedside manner & compassion. What more could a person ask for?

March 14, 2001

1 person found this helpful

avatar

For anyone who like me has been hoping and praying for a chance to find the right doctor who would be willing to convert a gastric bypass to a DS, contact Dr. K right away. I had my original RNY in 2001 and although I was able to keep off about 100lbs, I was still very obese at 5'3 and 228lbs and could not stop gaining and losing the same 10lbs over and over again. On June 24, 2016, Dr. K did my revision and in just two months, I have already lost 40lbs. I live in Florida and even if Dr. K was on the other side of the world, I would have travelled to have this miracle worker put his magic hands on me. Dr. K is a genius, a true professional, a kind heart and genuine soul. Dr. K'S office staff are like angels guiding patients through the entire process. I could never thank this man for what he has done for me and countless others.

Aug. 27, 2016

Overall
avatar

Dr. K saved my life! He is very passionate about helping his patients, is an expert in his field, and saves the lives of his patients. His staff is awesome as well! I highly recommended Dr. K and am very happy with the Duodenal Switch procedure he does. He is the ONLY doctor that does this particular procedure in So Cal! Go see him if you are morbidly obese!

July 13, 2016

Overall
avatar

My experience with Dr. Keshishian has been unlike any medical experience before. I have never been treated with such consideration, respect and knowledge. He is compassionate and passionate about helping people get past obesity to a healthy place. I have so much gratitude for Dr. Keshishian and his staff.

Sept. 4, 2015

Overall
avatar

I couldn't ask for better. Highly skilled, extremely intelligent and knowledgeable, but also funny and compassionate; not only do you get the best medical care from Dr. "K", you get the best human care, also. He responds to emails, texts, and phone calls, usually within a few hours. He'll go out of his way to see you--meeting me once at 11pm at on a weeknight when my incision was still not closing and I lived 200 miles away. He is a nice man, a great surgeon, and kind. You just can't go wrong with Dr. K.

July 20, 2015

Overall
avatar

Awesome person, Awesome Doctor.

March 26, 2015

Overall
avatar

Dr. K was amazing! He was blunt and to the point, but i really liked that about him. He persuaded me to have the DS instead of the VSG, and I am so grateful. I had a few issues in the hospital, and he was there for support and encouragement accompanied by his dry sense of humor.....it was very reassuring. I couldn't imagine having gone through this experience with anyone else. He is an expert in his field and also handles many revisions. I would recommend him to anyone in California.

Jan. 15, 2015

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×