Scott Bovard

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 22 ratings

Scott Bovard Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS, FASMBS

Scott Bovard Bariatric Surgeon Picture

10 yr in Bariatrics

10 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

10 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 70


David Pilati Profile Pic
David Pilati
MD, FACS
Paul E.  Enochs Profile Pic
Paul E. Enochs
MD, FACS, FASMBS
Jon Bruce Profile Pic
Jon Bruce
MD, FACS, FASMBS
Kajal Zalavadia  Profile Pic
Kajal Zalavadia
MD, ABIM, DABOM, Board Certified Bariatrician
Kristin Kelly Profile Pic
Kristin Kelly
RD, LDN
Rebecca Skotek Profile Pic
Rebecca Skotek
RD, LDN

22 Reviews for Scott Bovard
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

About 2 years ago I met Dr. Bovard and he changed my world with the DS procedure . Dr. Bovard is hands down One of the best doctor around. He has given me a new life and has help show me the path that will make a healthier and happier Me. He is definitely my god sent hero. I will be forever in his debt. I Recommend him to anyone I talk to about the bariatric surgery because he is a straight to the point no BS Doctor he will give you the tools you need on your new life and it up to you to use them. Life is to short to let life past you by trapped in the shell in the words of Matthew McConaughey “you just got to keep living man “ L-I-V-I-N. Keep up the great work and thinks for my New Life

May 27, 2020

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

Dr. Bovard is hands down One of the best doctor around. He has given me a new life and has help show me the path that will make a healthier and happier Me. He is definitely my god sent hero. I will be forever in his debt. I Recommend him to anyone I talk to about the bariatric surgery because he is a straight to the point no BS Doctor he will give you the tools you need on your new life and it up to you to use them. Life is to short to let life past you by trapped in the shell in the words of Matthew McConaughey “you just got to keep living man “ L-I-V-I-N. Keep up the great work and thinks for my New Life

May 27, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bovard is top notch. From the moment he walked in to my initial consultation, I knew he was the doctor for me. He has an awesome bedside manner and very trustworthy and honest. I had surgery with him about 14 months ago - and with his expertise, support, and guidance...I am down 125 pounds! I love my follow-ups with him, probably the only time I ever look forward to going to the doctor.

Thanks Dr. B!

May 19, 2020

Overall
avatar

Stellar doctor. Dr Bovard shot from the hip and was fully transparent and straight forward which was needed since this for me was such a huge life changing event. This biggest point he stressed was this is a tool for weight loss, not a cure all. 1 year later and 113 pounds gone, I have no regrets and will recommend him and his office for any bariatric procedure. I owe a lot to him and his staff for my success.

May 15, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Scott Bovard is truly outstanding! He is a straight shooter, no fluff surgeon who understands what needs to be done and gets it done. I started my consultations with Dr. Bovard about 6 months prior to my surgery on 5/30/2018. At each appointment, he was honest, open, and explained everything to me in plain English. I'm from NJ and had already done all of my research, so I knew what I wanted, how I qualified, my insurance coverage, etc. Our personalities were a perfect match to make my appointments quick and to the point and get me straight through the process. He always answered my questions (when I had them) and gave me super honest answers. My surgery went perfectly and I was able to go home the same day. I've had excellent follow-ups (e.g. appointments, labs, etc.); whenever a lab is not where it needs to be, he lets me know and how to correct it. At one appointment, I had my 5 year old with me. He was able to entertain her and address my follow-up like a father/doctor seamlessly; this is what showed me what an awesome HUMAN he is. I really couldn't be happier with Dr. Bovard and my journey with him.

May 13, 2020

Overall
avatar

I met Dr. Bovard in 2016 (I think) when I first considered having weight loss surgery. At that time I had not yet made up in my mind that I was going to move forward with surgery but wanted to attend the seminar to find out more about the different procedures and some of the pros and cons involved. Dr. Bovard was very thorough and there was something about his personality that made me feel very comfortable with him. Fast forward to 2018 and I had finally made up my mind that this was what I wanted to do and in November of 2018 I was having my procedure. Dr. Bovard's bedside manner helped to ease any anxiety that my family and I were having going into surgery. He is an excellent Doctor! It has been 18 months since my procedure and things are going great! My sleep apnea and other weight related issues have been resolved and I am able to do more and am feeling great.

May 12, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bovard is a wonderful doctor! I feel like he knows everything there is to know about bariatric surgery. He performed my VSG in April of 2019 and has been with me every step of the way. I was originally scheduled for my surgery with another doctor from Dr. Bovard's practice but he ended up retiring before my surgery. Dr. Bovard stepped in last minute and I felt like I had known him for months. He knew what he was doing 100% and his sense of humor made me feel so at ease. Now, a year out from surgery, he still supports me just like he did in the beginning. I know ANY questions I have, he will be there. I can not recommend him enough and am so grateful for him.

May 9, 2020

Overall
avatar

I first met Dr Scott Bovard back in 2012 when he had his own practice in Wake Forest NC and my weight was over 450 lbs. He is a straight forward person, but you can tell he cares about what he does, wanting to help people with there weight loss and getting there lives back. I chose the lap band band and had surgery in Nov 2012. I went from around 400 lbs at that time down to around 320 at my lowest weight. But then the up and down weight started, and Dr Bovard always stood by my side working with me, at time getting on me trying to keep me going in the right direction.
Now years later 2019 I had some family problems and ended up with my band slipping and having to have Dr Bovard open the band all the way and then the weight gain started and I was back up to 400 lbs again. Dr Bovard who still never gave up on me after all these years talked to be about removing the band and having another surgery which I had done in Nov 2019. I can say Dr Bovard saved my life and has given me my life back to this day for when we started again I was 400 lbs and as of now May 2020 I'm down to 274 lbs and still dropping weight. Again I will say he has saved my life and gave my life back to me.
I consider Dr Bovard a friend who never gave up on me and always wanted to help me over all the years that I have known him . I'm happy that I chose Dr Bovard as my doctor and who has become a close friend in my life, and look forward in seeing him in the future during my weight loss journey.

With Kindest Reguards,

David Weber

May 8, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bovard has been the most incredible partner throughout my weight loss journey. He has been so supportive and believed in me when I honestly barely believed in myself. He helped me finally start seeing my body as something that I didn’t always have to fight with. He gave great advice and helped me select the perfect surgery for me - Duodenal Switch. My type 2 diabetes is gone, as is my sleep apnea. I don’t cry all the time at work and can handle stress so much better. It’s been a little over a year since I had my surgery and have absolutely no regrets. My daughter is having her VSG by him later this month and I have a few friends getting serious about scheduling their own consultation. I wish everyone could be as lucky as me and be able to have Dr. Bovard! I’m down 135 pounds and am maintaining. Thank you Dr. Bovard!!

May 7, 2020

Overall
avatar

I had consultations with several bariatric surgeons before I selected Dr. Bovard. In many of the offices, I felt like "just another patient," no warmth or empathy from the staff. Starting with my first phone call to Dr. Bovard's office, the experience was totally positive. I was immediately connected to the patient coordindator who took the time to listen to me and learn about my particular situation. In other offices, the only response was that I needed to schedule an appointment and pay a consult fee to have any questions answered. By talking with the coordinator, I learned that my weight and BMI was not high enough to be a candidate for insurance coverage (and I thought I was huge). I was told that Dr. Bovard performs cosmetic lapband procedures for patients whose BMI is between 30 and 38 with no health problems. The patient coordinator took a full hour to answer all of my questions and then directed me to a website to complete my orientation and fill out a medical questionnaire to make sure that I was a candidate. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the fee was at least $4,000 less than I had been quoted by other bariatric surgeons for a hospital surgery. After this, I met with Dr. Bovard, who was very professional and open about the procedure and the committment that I needed to make to achieve my goals. I signed up on the spot and this was a decision that has totally changed my life. I had my surgery 3 weeks after my first phone call. The surgery was performed in the private OR of Schwarz Plastic Surgery. That facility is absolutely fantastic. I had my surgery at 9:00 am and I was home by 1:00 pm. I was even given a certificate for free botox by Dr. Schwarz and a discount on plastic surgery to use when I have achieved my weight loss goal.

Overall
avatar

I almost did not call Dr. Bovard due to the past two reviews that appeared on this website. I am glad that I did not let those negative reviews stop me. On my first call to his office, I found his patient coordinator, Kristi, to be extremely professional, knowledgable and helpful. I did ask her about the negative reviews and she told me that due to privacy regulations she could not discuss another patient. However, she did tell me that the person that wrote the two reviews was told by Dr. Bovard that she was not a candidate for lapband surgery and she became angry to the point that the office considered getting a restraining order to stop her harrassment of the staff. The woman has since written letters to President Obama, the Governor of NC, and every hospital in the region filled with lies and false information about the practice. She said that they knew these reviews were written by this person, since they were copied verbatum from the letters that were written to local hospitals. Due to Kristi's professionalism, I decided to schedule an appointment and I have not been disappointed. I found Dr. Bovard to be a wonderful, caring person as well as a skilled surgeon. His office staff was great. They guided me through the insurance process every step of the way, and I was approved in record time. I had my lapband surgery approximately five months ago and I have already lost over fifty pounds. I am so grateful that I found Dr. Bovard and thankful that I didn't let the reviews written by one deranged person prevent me from seeing him.

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×