Alejandro Quiroz

Plastic Surgeon
Rating: 4.77777777778 out of 5 with 27 ratings

Alejandro Quiroz Plastic Surgeon MD, FACS

29 Years Experience

15,000 Surgeries Performed


Abdominoplasty

Arm lift

Body Lift

Breast augmentation

Breast reduction

Brow lift

and 6 more...


CosMed Clinic Profile Pic
CosMed Clinic
Plastic Surgery Center

27 Reviews for Alejandro Quiroz
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I had gastric bypass surgery, November 2010 and lost 180 lbs. I decided to have a lower body lift, breast augmentation, thigh lift and fat transfer to the butt. I met Dr. Quiroz last year at the Obesity Help Conference and then went to visit the clinic in February 2014. I was hesitant about going to Mexico but after meeting with the doctor 2 times before and visiting the clinic all concerns I had were gone. I would highly recommend Cosmed and the Recovery Boutique, I received great care while there. I had my surgery, which went really well and then spent 8 days at the Recovery Boutique. I couldn't imagine going home and taking care of myself after that type of surgery. The staff was wonderful and Dr. Qurioz has a great bed side manner, they made me feel at home and I felt like they really cared. I'm only 2 weeks out, but so far have been very impressed with my after care. I will be back in the future to get the skin under my neck tightened. If you would have asked me last year if I would have gone to Mexico, I would have said no way. After doing a lot of research and meeting with multiple doctors, I knew Dr. Qurioz was the right choice for me. I have no regrets.

8 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

When my insurance would not cover my surgery and local plastic surgeons were so expensive, we investigated going out of the US. We discovered a miracle in Dr. Quiroz and CosMed Clinic. They treated us better than I have ever been treated by any physician or medical facility. He is an extremely caring human being that is an excellent professional. He is expert in his field and does beautiful work and cares about his patients. It was well worth the trip down to Mexico. I had a breast reduction/lift and upper arm lifts done. Before the procedure I had a great deal of shoulder and upper back issues due to the extra skin and tissue aggravating my arthritis. I lost well over 200 lbs and Dr Quiroz did miracle work on making me look and feel so much better. He is dedicated to helping bariatric patients and is such a caring and concerned individual. His staff and clinic are super to work with and he is expert in his field. He is licensed in both Mexico and the US and his staff all speak fluent English and Spanish so there are no issues with going south to Mexico. You won't find a better surgeon or such a caring human being anywhere!

9 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

I used to Weigh 366 lbs. After having the Lap Band procedure, I lost 130 lbs. I was left with a lot of excess skin. I had researched plastic surgeons that specialize in post wt loss surgeries, and Dr. Quiroz has been specializing in this field for many years. I have had a breast reduction/lift, and this coming year will be having my body lift, lipo and a small revision from my breast reduction. There was an infection that developed about a week after I got home from the reduction/lift, but it is very normal in breast reductions, since it is very fatty tissue, and Dr. Quiroz treated it, and healed nicely. I am not unrealistic about what the results are. Scars are scars, and people heal differently, but I would take the scars over my pancake boobs ANYDAY! I am happy every day that I can put a MUCH smaller bra on every day, and I no longer have back pain, or migraines, and I can now buy much cuter clothes.

4 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

After doing research on Dr. Alejandro Quiroz, I decided to pick him as my plastic surgeon. He has excellent credentials, associations, years of experience, and he has a license to do surgery in the United States. I couldn't go wrong, I thought. He was the most expensive, but cheap doctors really scared me. Expensive is associated with good quality, and that's what I was looking for.

I'm very dissatisfied with the results. Although I look better than before, the job is not worth what I paid for and is not high quality which is what one would expect of a doctor of his caliber according to his website and years of experience. He refused to do any revisions and to do them here in the US I would have to pay so much for the revisions since repair is more difficult to do. I checked for reviews on Dr. Quiroz and found nothing but good. Had I found the video on YouTube "3 Weeks Post-op (First Weekly Video!!!) by shrinkinglaura (her arm lift is so bad!) I would've gone to a different doctor.

5 people found this helpful

avatar

I was extremely skeptical of having surgery after weightloss in Mexico, but I had receieved quotes from two doctors in the U.S. and I could not afford it. I am a teacher and now a single mother, so I have very little income. I lost 140 pounds through diet and exercise and I had a lit of extra skin with no hope of ever living without it. I was embarrassed, uncomfortable, and in pain front carrying the skin around everyday. It is extremely frustrating to work so hard to lose weight, only to be left with more weight that can't be lost without a surgery I couldn't afford. When I found Dr. Quiroz at Cosmed, he gave me an estimate and I remember crying because it seemed too good to be true. Dr. Quiroz called me and discussed my surgery options, and I knew I wanted to move forward with surgery. He was very professional and answered any questions I had.

When the time for surgery approached, Dr. Quiroz and his staff kept in touch, and assisted me through the entire process. I was also able to get information through the Cosmed Facebook page! The day of surgery, standing in Dr. Q's office, he said, "today, you are going to be skinny!"...and he was right! Dr. Quiroz changed my life forever and I will be forever greatful. My experience with Dr. Quiroz was amazing and I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs help with weightloss or plastic surgery.

12 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

I had surgery for lapband on June 2010. I went from 290 pounds to 170 pounds in 2 years, total weight loss 120. After the first year post op I started noticing loose skin around my belly area and inner thighs. Also my behind hung down significantly. At this time I started researching plastic surgeons. I knew that I would never be able to afford surgery in the United States, for the price of a tummy tuck here....I knew I could get everything I needed done in Mexico. With months of research, I came across Dr. Quiroz from Cosmed Clinic in Tijuana, Mexico. I spent days on the internet, researching this doctor. I believed I had found the right surgeon for my needs. Dr Quiroz is licensed in the United States along with Mexico. This alone was a plus for me.
I then became a member on a facebook group for Clinica Jerusalem, also in Tijuana Mexico. I had met a lot of women that had plastic surgery there, so I sent in my pics and received an email with the doctors recommendations....he wanted me to do a mommy makeover!! NOT even close to what I had wanted done for me.
So....I went back to my original and first choice surgeon, Dr Quiroz. I sent in my pics for a virtual consultation. With this doctor, you receive a personal phone call for you consult, not an email! He will ask you what are your main concerns. I told him my thighs, tummy and butt. He recommended a lower body lift, inner thigh lift and a little lipo. THIS is what I wanted and THIS is what he recommended. A few hours later, I received a price quote via email. To my surprise, it was affordable!! A month later in January, I booked my surgery for June 21, 2012.
I stayed in their recovery boutique for 14 days after surgery. I had 24 hour nurse care and meals provided. I was well looked after. The doctor checked on me almost every morning or evening; either on his way to work or on his way home. He took care of my needs while I was there and made me feel more than just a patient.
In my opinion, I would highly and with great respect recommend this surgeon to anyone that may ask. I have had some small concerns since I have been back home, and if you send him an email, the doctor will personally call you back regarding your situation. If I ever needed any other plastic surgery, this is the place for me. NO more researching surgeons for me. Dr Quiroz has changed the look, shape and form of my body and with that alone I am eternally grateful. Thank you once again Dr Q!!

6 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Quiroz was good, as was my first procedure. Subsequent procedures however left me needing multiple revisions and those revisions left me with lots of hard, lumpy scar tissue that ultimately needed to be removed here in the US. Four years ago I would have been leaving a glowing review as others here have. Cosmed seems to spend more time promoting their clinic than to returning phone calls. I've asked for my medical records three times and never received acknowledgement of any kind. In hindsight, I would have spent extra money and had my procedures done in the US.

5 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

Although I have written a review before I wanted to update now that I am 9 months post op. I am still very happy with my results and am excited about returning for other procedures.
Dr. Quiroz kept in contact with me after my return to Florida and he spoke with my local physician about aftercare and my continued recovery. I sent pictures for several weeks so he could see how my healing was progressing and it is always nice to hear his voice when he calls to check on me.
I had abused my body for many years and damaged my skin tremendously but Dr. Quiroz was very positive that I would have great reslults. He certainly delivered!! I have received compliments beyond my imagination... What a wonderful feeling. Thank you Dr. Quiroz and staff.

4 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?

1 previous review. « hide

WOW, where do I begin. I am now 6 days post op and just returned from a visit with Dr. Quiroz. What an amazing man he is. This experience for me from the beginning has been nothing short of amazing.
I must first say that my bariatric surgery was 30 years ago and was done at Shands Hospital in Gainsville, Florida. My first experience with Dr. Quiroz was 25 years ago when he did surgery on me in Mexico City. I had not lost much weight at that time and he performed liposuction on my inner thighs to reduce the amount of fat. (He removed almost 2 liters of fat if my memory serves me right) and he removed excess skin from my underarms. What a blessing that was to me. I knew that if I ever had any other surgery done that I would want Dr. Quiroz to be "the man".
My time finally arrived after a resolution to not be out of shape by the time I turned 50. ( I will be 50 in July). I started a balanced diet and exercise program in April of 2010 and was ready to locate Dr. Quiroz by August. I did an internet search and was able to find him. I did as his website requested and sent pictures. What a thrill it was to receive a phone call from him shortly after sending my pictures and information.
On the 19th of January I had the lower body lift, inner thigh lift and breast augmentation.I
I sit here in my beautiful hotel room writing this review and I am so very excited. Yes, I look like I have been in a car wreck, but I know that is only temporary. I actually have not experienced any "real" pain. Prior to coming to the hotel I stayed at an aftercare facility that was arranged by Joyce in Dr. Quiroz's office. The aftercare was wonderful. The travel experience has been very pleasant. We (my mother is traveling with me) have been treated beautifully. The kind and courteous staff at Cosmed cannot be topped. All of my apprehensions about traveling out of the country have been removed. I would HIGHLY recommend this process to anyone who is beginning to think about having plastic surgery done.
I have talked about all of my surgeries as they were one, but I will be posting additional reviews under the other surgeries also.
I cannot say enough good about the entire process, especially when I would tell someome that I was going to Mexico for my surgery and I would then get "the" comments. Every detail that could be handled by Cosmed was.
If anyone would like to contact me, perhaps there is a way through this site. I have not "poked" around alot, but I would be thrilled to email with anyone.

8 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

I am post op 15 days after having a lower body lift, liposculpture, and fat transfer to the buttocks by Dr. Alejandro Quiroz. I am thoroughly satisfied with my entire experience from beginning to end, and I recommend Dr. Quiroz without reservation to anyone seeking plastic surgery. I am from New York and work in the medical field for prestigious Columbia University Medical Center. I had gastric bypass surgery January, 2007 and lost 100 lbs but my insurance carrier refused to pay for any surgery based on it not being "medically necessary". I began searching extensively for a plastic surgeon and after seven months of exhaustive research, I decided to go with Dr. Quiroz. My choice was based on several factors which were: surgeon's residency and fellowship training, board certifications, licensure, years of experience, morbidity and mortality rates; facility adherence to standards of safety comparable to the U.S. (e.g., infection control, and quality care) and finally but not the least, my personal safety in Mexico. When I decided to do the gastric bypass surgery, I received tremendous negative feedback from family and friends and canceled it once before I did do it. Had I told anyone I was going to Mexico for plastic surgery, I would still be chained to my desk or kitchen counter. I was going alone, I was fearful, and I was taking a loan from my pension. As my daughter so nicely put it, "If you come back with one kidney and nine toes, you have no one to blame but yourself". I was just as afraid to go into Tijuana as I was to go see a doctor outside of the U.S. where our standards of care are 'superior' to most other countries. After my research and speaking with Dr. Quiroz, his staff, and going over my information over and over and yet over again, the final go ahead came for me when I watched his interview on the Lifetime Network here in NY. The two reporters that interviewed Dr. Quiroz did so with such a vengeance, I loved it. That was the last thing I needed to see to be convinced. I read many reviews on his site but I needed to do more, see more, know more. I began the process and I spoke often with Joyce Palau of his clinic. She was courteous, professional, and helpful in so many ways. Joyce handled every single detail. All of the staff at Cosmed Clinic were friendly, smiling, professional, just amazing people to speak with. Everyone spoke English, and although I am Puerto Rican and speak decent Spanish, I felt much more at ease to know everyone there could relate to me on my terms. I arranged my roundtrip flight from Newark to San Diego and Joyce arranged everything else. I was still afraid to stay in Tijuana, so I decided to stay only five days at the aftercare center Joyce put me in, Casa de Lilas, and stay the other five days in San Diego, where I would be on American soil and feel safe and I'd just figure out how to get back and forth to my follow up appts after surgery. Casa de Lilas was the icing on the cake to my entire experience. I have to mention them. To say that I was treated like royalty, taken care of, fed, and watched over is an understatement. The staff here took exquisite care of me to the point of my changing my hotel accommodations. I remained with Casa de Lilas and Mr. Antonio, Martin, Ana, and Lucia and the others for the entire ten days. I was well fed, cared for, my drainages taken care of, my meds given to me faithfully, bed linens changed, used the internet and made and received phone calls from/to the U.S. and relaxed. Even my laundry was done. Ana even sewed a button on my sweater for me when it popped off. I left Casa de Lilas at 3:30AM with my new friends taking me to the airport in San Diego, carrying my luggage, and exchanging hugs and kisses. I have made new friends in Tijuana with Cosmed Clinic and Casa de Lilas. I was taken to Cosmed for my initial consultation on March 15th, 2011, and met with Dr. Quiroz for the first time and my initial consultation. My surgery was scheduled for the next morning. Dr Quiroz was fresh out of surgery in his scrubs and met me with a fresh smile and proceeded to get down to the details of my surgery and all of my questions. He is extremely patient, did not rush me nor find any question too silly. He was very detailed in his explanations, his bedside manner was superb (I have worked with many physicians in 25 years, their bedside manner can be really cold at times) and he and his staff made me feel very secure and very good about my decision. Once we were done with my entire visit, I was driven to Casa de Lilas by Mr. Antonio, where I was made a wonderful dinner and escorted to my room. I was taken the next morning to surgery. I met my anesthesiologist, a wonderful man that made me comfortable and relaxed. I love that everyone has a great sense of humor. I can't explain how well I was treated, how careful everyone was, the nursing staff, the clerks, everyone was so great. I can say that I went to the O.R. relaxed and at ease and I awoke after surgery in fine spirits and to my surprise, not too much pain. Dr. Quiroz did an amazing job with my surgery. I was post op three days when I went to see him for follow up and I noticed how great I looked, even though I am still swollen and still have sutures, but I looked pretty good! Now, 15 days later, I look amazing. When I returned home five days ago and my daughter saw me, she was sooo happy and said how wonderful I looked. My face was so clear and so aglow (I ate fresh fruit and drank juices every day and did not have any diet soda or junk good as I do back home) and of course, the first thing I did when I got home was take off my pants and shirt and binder and showed my new body to my daughter and friend who picked me up at the airport. They both said I looked amazing and great and that I was not going to know how to act with this new body. I have to smile because I am soooo happy, and they are soooo right!! Thank you Dr. Quiroz, Dios te bendiga.

7 people found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

Transformation, Respect and Gratitude…

My name is Marika; I’m here to share with you the story of my transformation at the hands of Dr. Alejandro Quiroz and his staff at the CosMed Clinic, Tijuana, Mexico.
I chose to have cosmetic surgery to remove excess skin as a result of losing a significant amount of weight. After a thorough amount of research, and careful consideration I selected Dr. Quiroz based on the following criteria, listed in the following order, which were the most important reasons to me.
- As an elective surgery, the procedures were not covered by my medical insurance, and the prices quoted by CosMed were within my reach, with financing options available.
- Dr. Quiroz is not only a plastic surgeon; he also specializes in reconstructive surgery which was not the case with all the surgeons I researched. In my opinion that placed him head and shoulders above his competition.
- He is licensed in both Mexico as well as in California, and he speaks perfect English, which was also not always the case with the other surgeons.
- In addition to the above mentioned items and equally important were the reviews on him and his clinic. While I understand that there are always pros and cons in all reviews it was my belief that I had found the surgeon who best suited my needs.
My surgical date was April 12th, 2010.
I had a lower body lift, as well as an arm lift. Am I pleased with the outcome, you better believe I am!
My experience with CosMed has made me feel like a new woman. The care I received from everyone at the doctor’s office has made realize that I made the right decision. Joyce, who schedules the surgeries and trouble shoots the questions as well as allaying any fears you might have is a caring and dependable person. No mater how busy Joyce is, she does her best to get back to you in a timely fashion. She does not get upset if you call her repeatedly and will devote the time needed to make you feel important. Marta, the nurse who attended me after the surgery was an absolute professional, she was kind and caring during a time when I was in need. ALL of the nurses, and I do mean all of the nurses are wonderful. Under the direct supervision of nurse Perla, who heads an organized, efficient and caring staff you never get the feeling that you are a number, you are always treated as an individual who maters to all of them. As for the after care, the office provided me with three different options, the first was a luxury hotel located close to the office, the others were a choice of two different individuals who would take you in and care for your needs. I chose to stay at the home of Irene Sanchez; the care, the attention to details was overwhelming. Ms. Sanchez attended to all my needs, from changing my bandages, making sure that I took my meds on time, and cooking some of the best food I have ever eaten not to mention getting me to my follow up appointments. Irene is highly efficient woman and kind beyond words. At a time when I was most vulnerable she made me feel comfortable and secure. I strongly recommend her! Believe me, there were a lot of well intentioned friends and family that tried to dissuade me from choosing to leave the country to have this surgery done. I was told that my safety was going to be compromised in Mexico. If you think about it there are many places in the United States that are not safe, Tijuana must be a safe enough environment, look at the amount of revenue Mexico takes in from doing dental work and surgeries on such a steady basis. I understand your concerns, as they were also mine. If reading my words hits a note with any of you please believe my sincerity. I recommend CosMed completely without any reservation.
In conclusion, Dr. Alejandro Quiroz is not only a competent surgeon; he is a wonderful man, one who cares. It shows in all that he does and all that he is. From his attention, to the way he listens and hears what you have to say to his availability in addressing your concerns. He is passionate about what he does, and genuinely loves his “job”. However you have come to be find him understand that you have been blessed. I believe this with all of my heart, so much so I have asked to accompany his office on their next outing which happens to be next weekend, Saturday May 22nd, 2010 in Costa Mesa California. This is sponsored by Obesity Help.com, I will be there giving my full support to CosMed, and Dr. Alejandro Quiroz, a doctor of quality and a man of integrity.
Thank you

2 people found this helpful

Overall
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How polite did you find this person?
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×