Newbie here, tell me all about your band experiences!

mimijo
on 8/24/11 9:07 am

I am new here!  I was treating with a surgeon and was all set to do the gastric sleeve.  My insurance company decided after jumping through all the hoops that they will not cover the sleeve.  They will cover lap band or RNY gastric bypass.  I just cannot do something so invasive as the RNY is scares the heck out of me! 

Many people on another site I went to call the Lap band the "crap band" .  I know people can be biased based upon their surgeries. 

Tell me all about your experiences expecially long-term and complications you may have had.  Have you been successful at loosing and keeping off? 

Why do you hear of so many people needing their bands removed or are people just saying that? 

Would love to hear from you all to help me make a decision in my journey!!!1

Hislady
on 8/24/11 9:28 am - Vancouver, WA
I call mine a crap band too becuse that's what it is! I lost all of 20 lbs in the last 3 yrs. and finally had it emptied because it keeps tightening up on me. Personally I would never advise anyone to get a band I'd push for the sleeve of go without. We are seeing more and more all the time where the band is causing serious, long term problems and some are life threatening. My surgeons discourage people from getting bands because they just don't work the way the manufacturers portrayed them. Yes I'm biased but I'm far from being the only one, check out failed lapband forum, the revision forum and the vsg forum for lots more info! The band IS NOT all that it is portrayed to be!
Lifebeauty
on 8/24/11 9:49 am
Seems like u r going to have rny in September.  But just like any wls it differs with people.  My surgeon helped you determine by eating type, i.e. grazer or volume eater. 
People have problems with their wls for various reasons, some don't follow the rules or feel that they aren't losing weight fast enough and simply because it does not work for them.