Dr. Baker vs Dr. Ikramuddin

nosnhojm
on 12/10/11 10:14 am
I live in the north metro, and am considering RNY.  Would it be better to go with Dr. Baker at Unity due to the close proximity, or go with Dr. Ikramuddin due to his great track record and friendliness?

Also, is there a reason that people are choosing VSG or DS over RNY?  I'm new to this, but I just figured RNY has the best results and track record.

Thanks! 
(deactivated member)
on 12/10/11 3:47 pm - MN
DS on 03/13/12
I wouldnt say that RNY has the best results and track record. Every person I personally know who has had it had struggled to keep their weight off after about 2 years. If I were you I would do research on all the types of weight loss surgery minus the lapband. After seeing everyone one I love deal with regain and other issues from RNY I knew that I couldnt do it. Thankfully I found out about the DS and am going to be having Dr. Buchwald do my surgery. Check all the surgery boards, look at the failed surgeries board as well. Check www.dsfacts.com for info on the DS
nosnhojm
on 12/11/11 3:10 am
 Well, after 1 day of researching, I'm now leaning towards DS.  That would mean I would have to choose Dr. Ikramuddin, who I believe does laproscopic DS.  Dr. Buchwold only does open DS.

The real question now is whether my insurance will cover it.  From their medical policy, it seems like they will, but I'm right at that 49/50 BMI range...so maybe I just scrouch down when they measure my height???  I'm 6'2" male, 385 lbs., 29 yrs old.

BCBS of MA medical policy #347 covers:
Open or laparoscopic biliopancreatic bypass (i.e. the Scopinaro procedure) with duodenal switch for treatment of morbidly obese patients with BMI of 50 kg/m2 or greater that has not responded to conservative measures.
Paul H.
on 12/11/11 6:13 am - Eagan, MN
 I did not use the services frow either physician, however I have two friends that went to Dr Baker and absolutely love (Have respect for) him and his staff