3 weeks post op---little weight loss

Tina72
on 3/21/12 9:48 pm

I am three weeks post op today.  I have lost only 5 pounds.  After losing 25 on optifast, I am getting very scared.  I have read posts of others and I know to just put away the scale and follow my eating plan.  But I think I need to see it written again.

I am just at the point where I start to eat more food (which means more calories) and I am incredibly scared that I have done all this (surgery) for nothing.  I am almost scared to eat, but I know to follow the plan.

I am to start back to work in one week, and I don't know if physically I'll be able to do it.  When I walk around carrying anything I seem to get almost a heartburn that goes away if I rest.  I waitress for a living carrying trays.

Sorry for rambling on, but I knew I could express my fears here and you would understand, my husband would not

Thanks  

Tina

Karen W.
on 3/21/12 10:06 pm - Canada
Hi Tina.

Relax, take a deep breath, have some faith.  This will work, it's pretty well impossible for it not to.  Don't worry about starting to eat.  This will actually tell your body that everything's ok and may get you to start losing.  And slow weight loss early out is completely normal, it happens to almost everyone.  I had a stall (no weight loss at all) for 3 weeks, starting at 3 weeks out.  Your body is in shock.  You've just had  major surgery, plus it thinks you are starving it so is holding on to everything you put into it.

We're all different.  I lost 15 on OF, then 4 lbs in the first week post-op, 2 or 3 in week 2, and then stalled.  My average weight loss has been 1-2 lbs per week for most of the past 11 months. 

If you're not ready to go back to work, don't go if it's at all possible.  Your job is very physical.  If you can take more time, do it and let yourself heal.  And you really should talk to your clinic about the heartburn.  If you're not on a PPI (stomach med, like prevacid), they may want to start you on one asap.