Need support up here in Huntsville Ontario

michellebear
on 4/2/14 2:02 pm - Canada

Hi everyone,Im new at this please bare with me and not good with computers either lol.I have a surgery date with Dr Klein June 18th Im so afraid and excited at the same time.I have my Patt tests on May 21st.Not sure what to expect but told it would be 3 hrs long.I wish there was a support group up here in Huntsville Ont area.If anyone is close by or knows of a group close to me I would appreciate the help.Im trying to make a list of all that I need to get for after surgery to start stocking up.Im staying with my Mom in T.O after surgery because she is 10 min from Humber River Hospital so does anyone have any tips or suggestions that would help me prepare? Any advise helps and would like to make some friends to help each other out through our weight loss journey :) Thankyou

shoshanaApr2013
on 4/2/14 4:04 pm
Hi Michelle,

To give you an idea of what to expect, here's what happened at my PATTS appointment:

The appointment consisted of having blood work done, an ECG, a chest x-ray and a meeting with the anaesthetist and an RN.

Prior to the appointment I was given a Questionnaire that had to be completed by my family doctor (it had to be done within 30 days of my surgery date), and a brown paper bag for my meds/vitamins.

I brought the following things with me to my appointment:
1) The completed family doctor Questionnaire
2) The paper bag with all my meds and vitamins (bring the original bottles if possible so the RN can record the exact information including vitamin brands etc)
3) My Health Card
4) My extended healthcare insurance card
5) The name and contact information for my Power of Attorney
6) A book (I was told 3 hrs but it was a busy day for them so it ended up being 4.5 hours)