Smoking and appointments......

iSeeTheLight2015
on 4/13/15 6:09 am

So I've been smoking for about 13 years now and I've read on this amazing site of very helpful people that a lot of surgeons will not operate if you smoke (I definitely understand why). Since deciding about going through this process after lots of reading on this site I knew I had to quit for the right reasons so the day I spoke to the doctor about a referral I also asked for champix. I've read lots that surgeons won't operate unless you've quit for 3-6 months (some require a different length of time) so I wanted to start the process of quitting straight from the gate right after I read this. As of now I have quit. I've also read that if you say you quit at orientation they will not start booking your other apointments until (let's say) you have not smoked for 6 months. My question is I haven't smoked for 2 weeks and my orientation is April 27th, do I say I recently quit or that I don't smoke? Technically both are true but will it delay the process even more if I say I recently quit?

Referral: March 25th 2015 Orientation: April 27th 2015 Nurse: April 13th 2016 Internist: May 26th 2016 Nutritionist: June 1st 2016 Social worker: June 9th 2016 Surgeon: June 20th 2016 Surgery: July 15th 2016

NorthernStar
on 4/13/15 6:28 am - London, Canada
RNY on 06/25/12

Congrats on quitting! It is tough but hang in there

It's hard to say, different centres have different policies but generally you need to be smoke free for 6 months at the time of surgery. This may or may not move your appointments back. Don't sweat it, just be honest if they ask and keep on track with being smoke free.

*Lindsey*

Keeping off 133 lbs since 2012!

Referral to Bariatric Registry: May 2011   /   Surgery (HRRH): June 25, 2012         

iSeeTheLight2015
on 4/13/15 7:13 am