Newbie advice?

Chrissyq333
on 3/22/18 11:33 am - Sudbury, ON
RNY on 10/29/18

Hi everyone,

I was just referred for bariatric surgery on Tuesday! They are mailing me the information package this week. I am just wondering, what would be the best advice you can give me to help me get through this (probably) year or so wait until the surgery. I am already very anxious and nervous about it all, but so excited at the same time.

thank you!

Referral date: March 20, 2018 Orientation Date: May 30, 2018 Surgery date: October 29, 2018 with Dr Rotstein at St Micheal's in Toronto.

corriev
on 3/22/18 11:57 am
VSG on 03/06/18

it seems like a long time, but it went by fast for me.. Do what is expected of you, and attend the side courses that you need to. The program will go at your pace. I am new to the looser bench and am loving the feeling so far. There are going to be very tuff days, but look at the end picture of a healthier you. Good luck. once its all done, you'll think it didn't take that long after all.

jenkh
on 3/22/18 1:38 pm
RNY on 03/12/18

I'm sure you already have but do lot's of research. They are going to throw a lot of information at you. And its better when you're already prepared and know the big stuff. Then you can focus on the questions and concerns you specifically have.

It may feel like a long road but the time goes surprisingly quick

Humber - Orientation : Sept 2016 - Meet the Surgeon: Nov 2017 - Nurse/Dietitian/SW - Jan 15 2018 - Internalist - Feb 7 2018 - Final Surgeon Appt: Feb 12 2018 - Optifast - Feb 26 2018 - Pre-Op Feb 27 2018 - Surgery: March 12 2018

oneatatime
on 3/22/18 2:02 pm
RNY on 09/01/17

Welcome to the boards! This is an amazing place to be. It was, without question, the thing that helped me the most as I prepared for surgery. I got all my questions answered (even the ones I didn't know I had), I found endless support, I learned tips and tricks along the way, and I made amazing friends.