goal weight?

gabbyabby
on 2/29/12 2:31 am
So how did you set your personal goal weight?  I picked an achieviable number. 175... i am 5'10 and thought that was a "healthy" weight/look for me. It is still 1 lbs over in the overweight catagory. 

Now that I am getting closer (32 lbs away from goal) and I am only 6 months out from surgery, I am wondering if I picked too high of a goal.  i found a web site that said my ideal wt for frame, height and gender is between 153- 173. 

So here is my question...

1. for those at goal... how did you deside you were done?

2. for those working towards a goal, how did you set your goal?

poet_kelly
on 2/29/12 2:38 am - OH
I just wanted my BMI to be in the normal range.  I didn't really have a specific number.  My surgeon thought 140 was a good number, she thought I should not go any lower than that.  I did end up lower, though.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jennifer M.
on 2/29/12 2:44 am - MN
RNY on 02/17/12
 I picked a number within the healthy weight ranges.  I'm not tied to it, and I figure my body will tell me when it's done losing.   Having never been 142 as an adult, I'm not sure it's possible.  LOL

teffytmg
on 2/29/12 2:45 am - Canada
RNY on 02/15/12
I spoke with my dr about a good goal.  I am just under 5'5" and he said 125 -135 would be a good weight TO AIM FOR.  This means lets aim there and see how my body changes on the way there.  We will likely adjust the number slightly but 125 was at the lower end of my "healthy" range and means a good BMI so thats our starting point. 

Sur wt 225 lbs.1st Goal 190 Lbs,2nd Goal 175 Lbs,3rd Goal 150 lbs. BIG GOAL 125 Lbs at a loss of 100 lbs!!!!!                
Nycm