Epidural before surgery?

poet_kelly
on 4/16/12 5:52 am - OH
OK, I'm sure having it open makes a difference.  Hopefully you don't need to stay a whole week but I would think you would need a couple days longer than if you had it lap.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

irishgirl89
on 4/16/12 7:21 am
Small risk of a spinal headache with an epidural. I've seen it twice in 12 years and have never witnessed any other complications. Don't freak out when they go through the risks with u, its no different than being informed of the risks with having any surgery.
  Surgery 11/16/11.  HW 267.5; SW 250.1; Pre-op wt. 195.5; CW 126  GW 140-160             
irishgirl89
on 4/16/12 7:11 am
I'm a Labour room nurse and se epidurals inserted every day. The prob won't do one while your under cause they would not know if you have a level of pain control and or, it most likely will be a dry epidural so the can dose it up post op. A lot of surgical patients get an epidural postop and use a button to administer more of the epidural med themselves. Did not have it for my surgery but i did with my kids and its not painful at all. Just a bee sting when they put in the numbing medicine and then you won't feel a thing. Cather did not bother me either when i had it inserted for other reasons, but for the rny they will wait until you are out before they insert it.
  Surgery 11/16/11.  HW 267.5; SW 250.1; Pre-op wt. 195.5; CW 126  GW 140-160             
LouLou4
on 4/16/12 2:45 pm
Thank you all for your replies. You've really put my mind at ease. I think it's the unknown that is scary. Please keep your fingers crossed for me : )
LiciaLou
on 4/16/12 2:56 pm - Central, FL
RNY on 08/29/12