To carb or not to carb...

aesposito
on 4/23/18 5:28 am

When you say you avoid any version of sugar, do you realize that sugar from fruits and vegetables are still sugar?

It is easy to say two years out that you can eat fruits, veggies, potatoes, oats, rice and pasta and lose weight, when you are at the tail end of the malabsorption phase. Come back in five more years and tell us that again. I will bet your steel cut oats you won't be able to.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

Jester
on 4/23/18 6:28 am
RNY on 03/21/16

Yes, of course. My mistake, I should have specified REFINED sugars.

Ill take that bet. Whole foods, plant based eaters are not known to be prone to obesity.

babsinga
on 4/22/18 7:54 am
RNY on 07/11/17

Hi and Ditto on what everyone else said. I do eat some limited carbs now that I am almost at goal but they are all healthy carbs such as beans, lentils, salad carbs, veggie carbs. Occasionally I have a low carb tortilla or wrap that is high in fiber.

Whatever they say is a serving, I eat half of that . But you really don't need carbs at all during ongoing weight loss.

Babs in GA

HW 348 Revision SW 224 GW 165 CW 148

Revision from sleeve to RNY

Pre op: -5 M1-12 lbs M2 11 lb M3-5lb M4 -9lb M5 -2 M6-6 M7-7 M8 -4 M9-5 M10 -2 M11 -2

200 lbs lost and 17 pounds below goal !

sweetpotato1959
on 4/23/18 10:07 pm