Scheduling question - would really appreciate advice

erikalea1970
on 2/25/12 7:59 am - NJ
VSG on 06/11/12
I am a teacher, and had this lovely concept of getting my VSG right after school lets out, giving me 1)  a week and a half to chill at home before going to the beach (2 hours away) with my extended family, where I could continue to relax and recoup, and 2) plenty of time to totally recover and still have some summer left to enjoy.

Well, I wondered if this was a realistic dream, and sure enough, my surgeon will be at a medical conference the week I had "perfectly" selected.  The scheduling nurse was wonderful and looked through the calendar to discuss multiple options, which now are:

1) Get the VSG 7 days before the end of the school year, meaning time taken off (which I have, but not with tons to spare...although I get a new batch of leave in September.)  This would also mean missing 6th grade graduation, which I usually help coordinate music for.  I work in a supportive community, but I am concerned how it will look when people realize later why I took that time off. This option would also mean I'd have 3 weeks of recovery before the beach trip, and then 7 more weeks after the trip to focus on reframing my eating, working in exercise, and hopefully take some daytrips with the kids and one big drive to Florida to visit my mom.  My older son is 14 - not sure how many more summers he's going to want to hang with me.

2) Have surgery 2 days before the beach trip (I've pretty much already nixed that one.)  The nurse said it could be possible, but I'd be miserable on vacation (which was scheduled by other family members...I wanted August!)

3) Wait until the middle of July.  No time off work needed, but will spend much of the summer recovering.  Might be able to drive the kids to Florida to see my mom right before the end of the summer, but their dad has them the last week of August, so I'm not sure.