8 mos out, what I have learned: VSG not "one size fits all"...

Stronger1
on 7/3/12 3:30 am, edited 7/3/12 3:32 am - Charlotte, NC
Hi fellow sleevers!  Just checking in.  I am 8 months out and while I have certainly not had the fastest weight loss, I'm happy with my progress.  I have lost just over 50% of my excess weight and still working hard on it!!!  One thing I have learned and sometimes still struggle with "getting" is that the sleeve is not a one size fits all surgery.  What I see working well for others has not worked for me in many cases, and I'm still learning what MY body wants and needs.  When I first came on here I was seeing so many people hitting their goal inside a year and I hoped that I would one of those following a similar plan.  Clearly at this point, that will probably not happen.  I am able to eat a lot more than some people on here, and quite frankly, I NEED to eat more than some people on here.  I was struggling and stalling constantly eating at 600-800 calories a day...at my 6 month visit I was told by my doc I should be eating more like 1000 to 1200 calories a day.  I followed this advice (somewhat, I eat at around 1000 calories a day now), while at the same time decreasing my carb intake, and my weight loss has been steadier and I have more energy.  My resting metabolic rate is 1598, so I could potentially eat up to that (but I wont) and still lose weight.  I probably eat a little more fat that many folks here, but this seems to work for me.