RNY vs VSG... any advice?

olessgn571
on 12/9/13 9:32 am
VSG on 04/24/14

Hi, I'm new to this and have lots of questions regarding whether it would be better to have the VSG or the RXY.  I am at 47% BMI and need to lose about 150 pounds.  I'm scared that by choosing the VSG, I won't be successful.  But I'm also afraid of the long term malabsorption effects of the RXY.  I'd appreciate any advice.  I can't find long term data on the successs of the VSG and have never met anyone who had had it.  Most of my friends or co-workers have had the RXY.  If anyone can help, provide advice or resources, I'd be grateful! :)

Sasny
on 12/9/13 1:36 pm
VSG on 03/20/12

Here's a link to a very good article about the different choices

Http://www.obesityhelp.com/articles/choice-of-bariatric-procedure-a-philosophy-obtained-in-20-years-of-bariatric-practice-2

mickeymantle
on 12/9/13 2:53 pm - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

the newest studies are finding about the same weight loss with both vsg and rny , but with the sleeve you can take nsaid pain killers and other meds that you can't take with rny

the vsg is a simpler and safer surgery than the rny, and has less side affects than the rny , ds or the band 

there is less info about the sleeve because it is a newer surgery, but it used to be done as the first part of the ds but worked so well that many surgeons stopped doing the second part of the 2 part surgery done for the ds 

like any of the wls it will only work if you stay on plan, you can cheat on any of them , there are many people that have lost hundreds of pounds with the sleeve

the sleeve does not normally have problems with dumping or reactive hypoglycemia, which are common with the rny , reactive hypoglycemia can make you pass out which can be dangerous if you are driving

my diabetes is much improved with the sleeve   and I was taken off insulin and byetta

my back and knees are much better  which any weight lose would help