Hello Everyone! Thinking of the sleeve

AmeliaB
on 5/9/15 7:20 pm

Hello Everyone.. I am new here, and have been looking at your posts for 2 weeks now. I am still in the research stage about VSG and I am thinking of have this procedure done. I have always been over weight, the highest weight I reached, which is now is around 220 LBS although I don't weigh my self because I am so scared of the scale!! But I know no matter how much I diet or exercise I will always come back to this weight and some... because I have been doing this for the past 20 years!

My father just gave me a great opportunity, he told me that if I wanted to have this surgery done, he can pay for it because he knows how depressed I am about this... Well... I would love to have a success story like all of you guys,, but there are a couple of issues worrying me.

1) Food is basically my best stress reliever! I love just putting my kids to bed after a long exhausting sleep deprived day, and just take all the yummy snacks out and eat... I am scared about losing this comfort... do you really not feel hungry anymore after this surgery? Does this feeling change, that dependency on food for emotional needs?

2) The surgery its self is so scary... I am scared of things going wrong... did any body have this surgery done and regretted it?

3)can you guys tell me the bougie size you had done... and how did each feel about it?

thank you!

Dan1962
on 5/9/15 8:07 pm - Syracuse, NY
VSG on 09/23/14

You will know you are ready when you realize your willing to give up things for the new life.  I'm in sales and eat and drink a lot for entertaining customers.  I had to change everything about the way I did that for this to be successful.  It was not that difficult because I was afraid of health consequences if I didn't do something.  I has dieted and failed and was ready.