Too much food?

Sheepie
on 6/13/17 7:03 pm
VSG on 05/31/17

Today I graduated to puréed foods. For supper, I blended up 2oz of tuna with 1tbsp low fat mayo, and a couple teaspoons of water. I nibbled at it over about 40 minutes, but I never had that "wow I am full" feeling.

I worry that I ate too much at one sitting, or I ate it wrong. Shouldn't I be uncomfortably full after eating 2oz protein? My sleeve is a size 40, if it helps.

HW: 340 SW: 310 CW: 196.6 GW: 170

White Dove
on 6/13/17 7:30 pm - Warren, OH

It takes time for your nerves to get back feeling after surgery. That is why we measure, we can't tell if we are too full.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

Cathy H.
on 6/13/17 7:36 pm, edited 6/13/17 12:37 pm
VSG on 10/31/16

That sounds about right for pureed food. They're essentially thick liquids, so it's about like having a thick protein shake. You won't start feeling any restriction until you are eating solid proteins.

Additionally, you are not going to have the "wow I am full" feeling for a long time yet. You're stomach nerves have all been cut, and it will take time for you to actually feel a sense of "fullness"...and some say they never really do feel it. This is why measuring and weighing is so critical, especially during the healing phases. Your stomach is not going to give you any of the signals you are used to, so you have to be diligent about not eating too much and damaging your new tummy.

I was only able to eat 4 oz of combined solid protein and softer foods by the time I was through with my 9 weeks of "healing phases." I am now 7.5 months out, and if I don't want to have part of my meal sitting in my esophagus and my stomach hurting, I have to keep it at no more than 3-4 oz of solid protein and no more than 5 oz total. I still measure and weigh every bite, and if I do eat 6 oz thinking it won't be a big deal "this time", I end up miserable for hours waiting for my stomach to empty enough to not feel sick anymore!