Surgery 2/1/18

LaurengetsLean
on 1/30/18 8:53 am
VSG on 02/01/18

Hello everyone,

I have been a silent participant of the VSG forum for months now and this week I finally built up the courage to post! I am having surgery this Thursday, 2/1/18, and I am so excited it is insane! All of the hard work that I have put in throughout this process is finally going to start paying off! A little bit about me: My name is Lauren, I'm 25 years old, and I am a nurse. I have a 9 month old daughter, she is my biggest inspiration for this choice, and am at my "pre-baby" weight now. I am 5'3" tall HW: 275 CW: 260.

I just wanted to introduce myself because I am sure I will be reaching out to you all in the near future. Also, I wanted to see if anyone had any advice on what to bring to the hospital, what to expect post-op, liquid/puree protein ideas that I might not think of otherwise, or just kind pre-op words of wisdom.

Thank you in advanced! I am so happy to be a part of this group and to start this adventure to a healthier me.

mpattee
on 1/30/18 9:03 am
VSG on 11/29/17

The biggest challenge post op is to drink your fluids and consume enough protein. It is very easy to forget about eating or drinking post surgery so you want to make sure you create a system that will support getting the appropriate nutrients to your body throughout the day so that you do not forget to eat. What can I say about puree? Horrible. I did not like eating pureed chicken or turkey. Fortunately, that phase was short lived and I was able to move into mashed foods, which is where I am right now. I had my VSG on November 29, 2017 so it is still relatively new. I know that as I move to more solid foods, my weight loss has slowed quite a bit, but I also attribute that to the fact that I am starting to work out and build muscle mass. With that said, I am still losing inches around my waist. Hope this helps a little.

LaurengetsLean
on 1/30/18 9:52 am
VSG on 02/01/18