Just started process. Meet with Dr. Malipur today

irishmama2004
on 10/25/11 2:02 am - AL
 Hi y'all. I am new to this process although I have been researching surgery for some time.I have been obese my entire adult life. Now, I want out. I am a nurse and childbirth educator at Huntsville Hospital. I went to Dr. M's seminar last week. Today, we meet one on one. I have 6 months of waiting to go because I have BCBS insurance. Boo. Oh well. I am excited to begin this journey. Hope I have a good appointment. Any and all help is appreciated. I don't know what I don't know, ya know? 

(deactivated member)
on 10/25/11 11:25 am
Dr. M is great. I'm guessing you've been to the WLS group meetings at the Dowdle Center? If not I encourage you visit with them!

Good luck with the process. 6 months seems like a long time but it will fly by.
irishmama2004
on 10/27/11 7:12 am - AL
On October 25, 2011 at 6:25 PM Pacific Time, NoelS wrote:
Dr. M is great. I'm guessing you've been to the WLS group meetings at the Dowdle Center? If not I encourage you visit with them!

Good luck with the process. 6 months seems like a long time but it will fly by.
 THanks! I have not made it to the support meeting, just the seminar but the daytime one at Med Mall is on my calender for November. Can't wait!
Kim S.
on 10/27/11 4:28 am - Helena, AL
The 6 months goes by very quickly and it is a good time to start some of the changes you need to make in your lifestyle as you prepare for surgery.  I assume you already know which surgery you want? 

Check the guidelines for that surgery and try to implement as many of the changes now as possible.  I also recommend that you start exercising NOW.  It will make your recovery so much easier and then you'll already be in a good habit once your surgery is complete!

Best wishes on your journey and let us know if we can help in any way.

Kim

irishmama2004
on 10/27/11 7:13 am - AL
On October 27, 2011 at 11:28 AM Pacific Time, Kim S. wrote: