Bedside nurses or anyone who lifts at work...

SleeveDivaNoire '11
on 3/22/11 9:46 pm
How long before you returned to work?  I will be going back next week at a month post-op.  I am concerned this may be too soon; I don't want to disrupt any stitches inside even though I am mostly healed outside.  We cannot return to work with any restricted/light duties.

If anyone went back at this time, how did you feel?  Any pain at work?  Should I wait til 6 wks to return?  I feel fine at home; of course, that is definitely nothing like work.

Just wanted other opinions.  Thanks. 

Khem
AKA NotBaby_Fat
Ht 5'6"/HBMI: 50.8 /CBMI: 37.1
HW 315/SW 299.9/CW 230/GW 160

mittenfarm
on 3/22/11 11:42 pm - County Line, MI
You should be fine. If your outrsides are healed your insides are healed too. It's pretty difficult to harm inside stitches. I went back at 5 weeks.
-Wanda

Highest -380  Surgery- 345     Goal- 150   Current-150     5 ft. 8 in.

AKMRN
on 3/23/11 1:37 am - NC

I am a nurse in the OR and I went back 3 weeks post op with no restrictions.  I move patients all the time, and other than maybe not lifting the really big ones, I didn't have any issues.  My only issue was fatigue, but then again I had a post op bleed 5 days after surgery and lost half my blood volume, so if that hadn't happened I probably would have felt alot better.

Amy

HW/SWCW/GW
278/240/138/150
Jennifer M.
on 3/23/11 3:47 am