Another newbie says hello

melody S.
on 8/24/11 7:28 am - Morgantown, WV
Hello! I'm Melody, and I'm just starting out on my journey. I attended my surgeon's seminar last week, and I'm waiting for a call from his office, letting me know when I go in to see him for the consultation. I was initially interested in having an RNY, but now I am considering a VSG. I've been lurking here for a few weeks now, reading everything I can and trying to learn as much as possible.

The thought of major surgery doesn't really bother me (yet!). I know the risks, but I know that I am just as likely to die of a heart attack or stroke at my current weight, as I am of complications from WLS surgery. Probably moreso, to be honest. My biggest fear is that I will regain the weight that I will lose, because that is always what happens to me when I diet. I managed to go to a size 12 before I married, but I gained more than I'd initially lost, and am now a size 28. I *do not* want to regain the weight.

I've already modified my diet, trying to make it healthier, and I am adding some e3xercise (walking, mainly). I'm hoping that when I have to do the six month diet, it won't be jarring to me, and I'll be more likely to stick to it without cheating.

There are seven days in a week and "some day" is not one of them.

Maria612
on 8/24/11 10:09 am
Welcome!!  Look into all 4 surgery types and read, read, read.  Go to a surgeon who does all 4 surgeries.  I am happy with my RNY, but maybe you would need something else.  Dont go into it thinkingyou will fail, just do your best every day.  good luck to you.  maria
SW / CW / GW
327/203/ 180  
MsBatt
on 8/24/11 10:30 am
Hello, Melody! Welcome to OH.