Almost 7 years with my band and over 100 lbs gone.

Tabitha Person
on 3/17/12 3:10 pm - Redmond, WA
Hi all!

It's been years since I've last posted and I apologize for that. I remember when I started my journey how much I treasured updates from longterm banders, then I just sort of dropped off the face of the Earth.

I had my band surgery Sept. 21, 2005. At the time I was hovering around 260. Today I am happy to say I've been holding at 155-150 for about three years. My BMI is spot on in the middle of average. But the best thing are all the great clothes I can now find. I'm a thrift store junkie and finding things in size 6 is much easier.

I see my doctor at least once a year, but haven't had a fill in four years. The band changed my entire view of food. I now enjoy every single bite. I love the textures, the flavors, the aromas. The band forced me to start savoring food. If anything I'm even more I love with eating than before.

As the weight started coming off I also found it easier to exercise. It started with just walks around the block, taking the stairs, parking far away from the stores, etc, but now I'm happy to say I've ran three half marathons and hope to tackle a full marathon within the next two years.

The thing I'm most proud of is the confidence the weightless gave me to go out there and achieve my dream of going back to school. I had my surgery right before I started my undergrad. I am now working on my Masters thesis and will start the PhD program next fall.

It's been a long, hard trip, but I can honestly say I've never been happier in my life.

Blessings to all and thank you for all the support I've received over the years.

Tabitha
Jo 1962
on 3/17/12 4:55 pm - NearHouston, TX
 Thanks for posting, Tabitha!  Congrats for your wonderful success.  I  LOVE my "treasure hunting" at thrift stores and I love savoring a good meal.  I am curious if you have kept your band on the "loose" side and do any foods give you problems?