HELP!! Confused about Protein

shellyb1203
on 3/29/13 12:09 pm
VSG on 09/20/13

While trying to get a grasp of this protein thing (I am Pre-Op), I have really gotten confused.  There are so may different types of proteins in these supplements.   Whey, Whey Isolate, Collagen, Casein, Soy ???   Is any better than the others for WLS patients?  Do you use a combination to fit your needs for a certain given time?  I am so lost.  I truly appreciate any advice

poet_kelly
on 3/29/13 12:23 pm - OH

Whey isolate is the easiest to absorb, but whey concentrate, soy isolate, or calcium caseinate will all work fine.

Just avoid collagen, because it's an incomplete protein and not absorbed well at all.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

shellyb1203
on 3/29/13 12:40 pm
VSG on 09/20/13

Thank you so much.   That makes it easier to do my research and try out flavors :)

Srg2
on 3/29/13 3:21 pm - CA

The previous poster was correct.  Whey is the best - it is an animal protein.

Ema

~Ema

Revision - Lapband to RNY 3/15/2013 = Highest weight: 244 lbs, Surgery weight: 230 lbs, Goal Weight: 130         

scarlettbegonias
on 3/31/13 9:45 pm - Australia
RNY on 10/19/12