6 days Post-Op and Gaining Weight?!!

KrisRC
on 9/11/13 12:56 pm - Lyndhurst, NJ

I had the sleeve on Thursday of last week, and have been pretty consistently losing weight. However, I weighed myself yesterday and again today, and I have gained two pounds! Is there any explanation for this like water retention etc? I'm doing everything right, and was a little discouraged by this :(

Dave.of.the.coonties
on 9/11/13 1:30 pm

Don't worry so long as you're following the (very strict) rules about eating.  I lost weight fastest on the two-week pre-operation diet, where daily consumption was something like a dollop of meat, a bit of fruit and veg, and a couple of protein shakes every day.   The justification for this torture was that it would ensure a non-fatty liver, nice and soft.  Post-operation, weight loss slowed for a bit for whatever reason.  

Not being an expert, I can't assign a reason, but for me at least, temporary weight gains of 2 to 3 pounds have continued since surgery, which was at the end of May.  

shoutjoy
on 9/11/13 7:59 pm - Culpeper, VA

Hi,

Since I was not a fan of the scale, I let my clothes indicate my weight loss.  It saved me so much grief and anxiety.  So, my suggestion to you is to let your body do the work.  Follow your food plans, when you are ready, get active, join a support group and enjoy your journey to good health. 

Clueless about weight loss and weight loss surgery of any kind.

KrisRC
on 9/11/13 10:43 pm - Lyndhurst, NJ

I noticed that when I had the band as well, it seemed weight gain would happen every once in a while, just not this fast after surgery :/

Heather_Austin
on 9/11/13 3:52 pm - Austin, TX
VSG on 08/26/13

I didn't weigh myself until about 4-5 days post op and was shocked to see that I was 5 pounds heavier than the morning of the surgery.  However, within 2-days after that I suddenly "lost" about 8 pounds.  I read on these forums its from the fluids, shock, etc.  don't worry about it for a while.

Heather - Austin, TX