Did you have to gain weight BEFORE qualifying for weight loss surgery???

Mikoo
on 12/4/13 1:21 am - Spain

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Obesity Help but I have a serious question.

I'm wondering if anyone had to gain weight to qualifying for weight loss surgery? I'm only 6 lbs away from being 40 BMI and I've already talked to my Doctor about getting WLS but she said I didn't qualify at my weight (This was around 5 months ago when I talked to her and without even trying I've gained a few lbs.). I also asked her to test me for sleep apnea but she just sent me to a shrink to talk about my sleeping problem. By the way, we're stationed in Spain so I'm guessing they don't have easy access to sleep clinics near here. The hospital on base is pretty small.

Anyways, as I said I'm wondering if anyone has tried to gain weight so that you can qualify?

If so how did you gain it?

And do you have any regrets?

Thank you for your time.

Ladytazz
on 12/4/13 2:20 am

The first time I looked into WLS I was under the 40 BMI needed but my insurance didn't cover it at that time anyway.  When I finally got insurance that did cover WLS I ate unrestrained until my first appointment with the surgeon and just hit 40 BMI.  It is hard to believe that I was about 44 years old, fighting weight problems my whole life and that was the first time I was ever morbidly obese.  I think it was because I fought it so hard all my life, losing and gaining up to 100 lbs more time then I can count.  Honestly, people I didn't see regularly never knew if I was going to be fat, thin or in between.  When I found out about having WLS it was the first time that I really let myself go and ate whatever I wanted.  I gained 10 lbs between my first consult in August and my surgery in Oct.

I didn't really have to do anything special to hit the 40 BMI, I just let myself do what I wanted to do anyway.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010

High Weight  (2002) 240 Revision Weight (2010) 220 Current Weight 115.

Mikoo