Severe Nausea and Vomiting - Help

mjd2013
on 12/17/13 10:10 am, edited 12/17/13 10:12 am

Hi all,

I am 3 months post-surgery and have lost 62lbs. (RNY) I was back in my doctor's office today and have lost 6.5lbs since my appointment on Friday.

In short, I'm not holding down much of anything except H2O. I've tried countless combinations, timing, med. schedules, etc., all to no avail.

As soon as I eat, I get pain in my throat and all the way down and then my stomach kicks it back up almost instantly.

Please help me figure out what to do with this.

Thanks,

MJ

poet_kelly
on 12/17/13 10:46 am - OH

How long has this been going on?  What does your doctor think is causing it?  What has he recommended you do to stop the vomiting?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MickeyDee
on 12/17/13 3:59 pm

I'm not an expert, as this hasn't happened to me, but I've read descriptions here that sound like your symptoms.  You may have developed a stricture, which is where the stoma heals almost closed.  You definitely need to run this past your surgeon. The fix is relatively simple;  it is called an EDG, where the doctor puts a balloon down your throat and gently opens the stoma.  You would be under a mild sedative, and would need someone to take you to and from the office.

Definitely talk to your surgeon.

mjd2013
on 12/17/13 7:34 pm

Hi there,

I've had the nausea and vomiting since my surgery. It's never gone away.

I had an Upper GI yesterday to try to figure this out. He ordered some more blood work and will use that to decide if I should go back in the hospital.

Thank you both for taking the time to respond.

MJ

Valerie G.
on 12/18/13 6:57 am - Northwest Mountains, GA