Type 1 diabetic GB requirements

Auntierara
on 1/9/14 10:17 am

Hello! I am just starting my research and wondered if anyone could answer a question for me.  Are the requirements any different for patients who have T1 and are looking into GB? 

poet_kelly
on 1/9/14 10:47 am - OH

I'm not sure what requirements you're referring to.  Or whose requirements you mean.  If you mean the requirements of your insurance company in order to have them pay for WLS, you'd need to check with your insurance company.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Auntierara
on 1/9/14 11:30 am

I'm referring to the provider/surgeon. It's my understanding that once I get the pre auth from my ins co approved, I then have to go through dean's comprehensive weight mgmt program whi*****luded a bunch of nutrition and other appts plus prove multiple attempts at previous weight loss, I'm probably not explaining myself very well so I apologize for that. Basically I'm wondering if I have to go through the exact same steps that someone without diabetes would have to go through in order to get approved through the program plus for insurance which I know insurance is up to my own insurance I just didn't know if everyone else had to go through the same comprehensive weight management program type thing that the non diabetic person would do

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 1/9/14 12:57 pm - OH