Getting in protein

Aaccrr78
on 1/10/14 6:03 pm

I am 4 days post op and my doctor wants me drinking bariatric advantage protein shakes. 3 8 oz shakes broken up into 2 oz intervals. I can't stomach the shakes I hate the taste I'm sick of it and I don't want to have to drink that much. They only have like 20g of protein. What other protein shakes or liquids taste good and have a ton of protein ? How else can I get in protein? Can I still progress to the soft foods in a few days even if I can't get the shakes down ?

poet_kelly
on 1/11/14 1:24 am - OH

Try some other brands to see what you like.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

mkvand
on 1/11/14 5:44 am
VSG on 01/06/14 with

Nashua nutrition will sell you samples of any flavor they carry.  Order a bunch and see what you like best, because you're going to need them even after you progress to soft foods--your capacity is too low to get enough protein without them.

VSG 1/6/14 with Dr. Alvarez

mustlovepoodles
on 1/11/14 10:09 am
VSG on 12/31/13

I have several different flavors of protein at home, some are shake type and others are more like Crystal Light.  I like the Syntrax Nectars pretty well, although at first they were horrible. Then I learned to make them with about 12 ounces of water, instead of 8 ounces. I shake them up, then let them sit in the fridge for an hour or so. When I take them out I fill the rest of my cup with crushed ice.

Someone here gave me a tip for drinking protein...put it in a go cup with a top. It limits how much you can smell it. Also, at first I had to measure it out in 2 ounce portions. I kept the remainder in the fridge so it would be absolutely cold.