Approval

(deactivated member)
on 1/16/14 2:27 am - Glen Saint Mary, FL

Hello All,

I'm brand new to the site and so thrilled to be a part of something so important in my life! I received my surgery date of February 11, 2014...Yay! But, I was just wondering what the most common wait time is to get the approval for surgery from your insurance company?

KevinBacon
on 1/16/14 2:43 am, edited 1/16/14 2:43 am
VSG on 03/10/14

6 months. I have been working toward this for over 18 months. kiss

*edit to add, I have Tricare through the military. 

HW: 318 Date of Surgery: 3/10/14 SW: 270  CW: 154

(deactivated member)
on 1/16/14 2:56 am - Glen Saint Mary, FL

Wow! That must be very frustrating and ridiculous! I thought that Tricare was an awesome company for bariatric surgeries...who knew? If you don't mind me asking...what is the underlying problem for your approval?

poet_kelly
on 1/16/14 3:02 am - OH

Most don't take anywhere near six months.  With most it's anywhere from a few days to a few weeks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

vianca
on 1/16/14 2:45 am - chicago, IL

Welcome

(deactivated member)
on 1/16/14 2:56 am - Glen Saint Mary, FL

Ahh! Thanks so much  :)

Cunning_Pam
on 1/16/14 3:23 am
RNY on 12/18/13

Once all the preliminary requirements were completed, it took about two and a half weeks for the insurance company to review everything and approve it. However, one of their requirements was a six month supervised nutrition plan, so that was the biggest hurdle to overcome time-wise.

Surgery: RNY on 12/18/2013 with Jay M. Snow, MD            "Don't mistake my kindness for weakness." - Robert Herjavec, quoting Al Capone

(deactivated member)