Need some insight/suggestions

Sandie E.
on 2/4/14 3:17 pm - La Grande, OR
RNY on 05/14/14

Went to my seminar and consult today. Had in my head RNY was the best for me and my situation, but it seems like the surgeon was really pushing the sleeve. I have pre-diabetes, hypertension, high cholesterol, hypothyroid, gerd, and a sliding hiatal hernia that will be removed at the same time as the surgery. I have about 130 lbs to lose to be at a healthy weight according to the surgeon. If seems to me that the sleeve would end me up eventually revising to RNY and I am worried the gerd wouldn't go away, but can get worse with the sleeve. What thoughts do you all have?

Sandie E.
on 2/4/14 3:26 pm - La Grande, OR
RNY on 05/14/14

And I need to figure out how to lose 14 lbs!

poet_kelly
on 2/4/14 6:18 pm - OH

If your surgeon is pushing VSG for you when you have GERD, I would see another surgeon. 

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Lanibug
on 2/5/14 12:15 am

I actually suffered from severe GERD and my surgeon recomended the sleeve (and I had it in December '13).   It depends where your GERD is coming from.  I had a hiatal hernia which was partly causing the gerd.  the surgeon was able to stitch it up during surgery.  Between the hitatal hernia being fixed, and the pure fact that I am forced to eat less and more healthy than I used to-my GERD is cured.

Amy, Daredevil
Extraordinaire

on 2/5/14 9:36 am - Los Angeles, CA
DS on 08/06/13
On February 5, 2014 at 2:18 AM Pacific Time, poet_kelly wrote:

If your surgeon is pushing VSG for you when you have GERD, I would see another surgeon.