Anyone else have a job where they can't have water with them?

EmmyK
on 5/5/14 9:47 am - CA
VSG on 04/30/14

I'm an OR nurse.  We can't have water in the OR.  I'm going to ask my surgeon on Friday what he suggests, considering the rigid nature of my work.  I was just curious if anyone else has experience with this?

I figure I can eat breakfast as soon as I get up.  Then, on the way to work, I can sip.  Typically, I get a 15 min break in the morning.  That will be a snack time.  Then, 30 min for lunch.  Then, on good days, a 15 minute break in the afternoon.  That is close enough to lunch that it could be a post lunch water time.  I'm mostly worried about mornings.

My posts are for general information and do not constitute medical advice.  They should not serve as the basis for any medical decision by you.  Call your physician for advice.  HW 248  SW 233  CW 155

poet_kelly
on 5/5/14 10:19 am - OH

I know some people have gotten permission to have water, even though it's typically not allowed at their job.  For instance, I have a friend who is a court reporter and she had to have a letter from her doctor in order to be allowed to have water in the court room. 

But I'm guessing that's not a possibility in the OR due to having to keep things sterile.

Are there any breaks at all between surgeries?  Like when you could grab a quick drink?  Otherwise, what about having a protein shake for your mid-morning snack.  That way you could get liquids, protein and calories all in at the same time.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

EmmyK
on 5/5/14 10:35 am - CA
VSG on 04/30/14

Protein shake!  That should be so obvious.  Thanks!