no energy

ginhamp
on 9/25/14 1:35 pm

I am new to this and have found this very reassuring and helpful.  Thank you all.  I had my surgery 9/5/2014 and lost 19 pounds when I went to Dr yesterday.  Yay!  My question/problem is I am so very tired and feel really weak.  Is this to be expected?  I am on the soft and mushy phase and the first few day I had a hard time getting all my protein in - I couldn't keep it down. Better today.

MickeyDee
on 9/25/14 3:28 pm

Are you taking your vitamins and supplements yet?  That can often make you feel dragged out.

Otherwise, it can also simply be getting over the surgery;  just recovering from anesthesia can take 2-3 weeks.

"Nap as needed!"

kathkeb
on 9/25/14 4:50 pm

I don't know which surgery you had, but you are probably still recovering from major surgery.

Are you able to grab a mid-day nap?

are you able to do some light walking .... Sometimes exercise actually energizes us.

Do what you can to get in your protein, and make sure you are getting enough fluids .... Hydration is the most important thing right now.

Kath

Vivian Prouty
on 9/25/14 10:07 pm - Fort Worth, TX

Congrats on your 19 lbs. lost.    If you are able to take vitamins and keep them down....get some sublingual B12.   Take 500 mg a day ( you put them under your tongue and they melt ).   Those will give you energy.   I am with everyone else....you are still in the "body healing" phase and it takes time to get your energy back but the B12 will help you if your able to take them.    Also you don't have to abandon your protein shakes just because your eating mushy foods.....slip a protein shake in and up your protein as well.   Good luck to you and congrats again !!!

Hugs and blessings ~~~ Vivian

GOD GRANT ME THE SERENITY TO ACCEPT THE THINGS I CAN NOT CHANGE;   COURAGE TO CHANGE THE THINGS THAT I CAN;  AND THE WISDOM TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE !!!!    THIS IS MY DAILY PRAYER.
Vivian Prouty      Obesity Help Support Group Coach  "LOSE IT 4 LIFE"

Karen M.