fresh out of lap-band surgery 10/22/14

ivory214
on 10/22/14 6:52 am

So today was the big day. I was the first one in and was discharged by 12pm. Everything went well, except waking up gagging from the tube still down my throat. I have never had any kind of surgery so as far as the healing process I'm a total newbie. I'm having a hard time distinguishing pain from the surgery and incisions and possibly drinking too much. I know I am supposed to drink 64oz of fluid daily but how much can I drink (sip) at once and then how often? If this makes any sense I feel full but hungry? I know that there will be tightness because of the band being around my new stomach, but it's hard for me to tell if it's tightness from the band/swelling from surgery and feeling full. I obviously don't want to vomit or stretch my new stomach so I'm just trying to find some answers....

Thanks all!

Nancy

Bette B.
on 10/22/14 12:32 pm

If you only had your surgery this morning, you can be pretty sure that EVERYTHING going on right now is related to the surgery.

Didi your doc send you home without any "aftercare" instructions?? It's been 11 years since my surgery but as I remember it, I was supposed to drink about a shotglass of liquids every 10 or 15 minutes. You're probably not going to feel full, per se, on fluids, but your new stomach is still reacting to the surgery so you probably will feel tightness in your stomach for a few days. Do you know if your band was installed empty or with any fill in it?

If you only had your surgery this morning, you can be pretty sure that EVERYTHING going on right now is related to the surgery.

Banded 10 years & maintaining my weight loss!! Any questions, message me.

ivory214
on 10/22/14 8:18 pm

So much aftercare, lol. It says I have to drink 64oz fluids but they didn't specify how much I can drink at one time and at what intervals. He did not fill the band. They told us that due to the swelling they don't fill it then. Thanks for your input.

kathkeb