The "net carb" BS

Mathew M.
on 1/24/16 9:37 pm

I am not a scientist, so I know that everything I say should be taken with a grain of non-salt seasoning.

But this whole "only blah blah net carbs" claim is total BS in my opinion and experience.  For example, Quest Bars (which I think are awesome, just not accurate with the net carb claim) list that they have 20g of carb, but because of the fiber "cancelling" out the carbs, they only have a net of 4 or 5 grams, depending upon the flavor.  People, I am here to say that if you are counting and keeping track of your carbs, these must be counted for the full amount of 20. 

What do I base this on? I am a juvenile diabetic.  I have been for over 40 years.  I will always need insulin (or at least until they actually discover a cure).  Even when I was heavy, I always have had to keep track of the carbs that I eat so I can give myself the proper amount of insulin to "cover" them.  I wear an insulin pump, as well as a Dexcom continuous glucose monitor.  Folks, a carb is a carb is a carb.  Period.  Some are absorbed slower of faster than others based upon how complex they are or how much fat and protein is also being ingested, but the carbs will be absorbed and will behave like any other carb, regardless of what that packaging will lead you to believe.  I know this 100% because if I were to take the amount of insulin for 5 carbs (the net they claim), my blood sugar would sore.  I need to take every bit of insulin that I would require with any other 20 carb gram meal when I eat a Quest Bar.  I have had many, and I know that I personally need 3 units to cover 1 quest bar and keep my blood sugar stable.