Medically Supervised Diet- Newbie Here!

cicis_journey
on 3/29/17 1:53 pm

Hi all! Newbie here! My insurance company requires the standard 6 month medically supervised diet before they will approve me for my WLS. I don't attend my first info session for my surgeon until Monday and of course I am totally impatient and am looking for answers right now-- I know I need to get over this impatience :-) Anyways, who monitors your diet is it your surgeon and their team or is it your primary care physician? If it's your primary care physician can you start the diet process before you get into your initial process with your surgeon?

I have SO many questions! But I am trying to utilize the search function first --- thank you!!

Cici

White Dove
on 3/29/17 2:32 pm - Warren, OH

For me, it was my surgeon's dietitian. Your surgeon might be different. Why not call and ask?

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

cicis_journey
on 3/29/17 2:58 pm
Great idea I didn't even think of that!!
Readyjwc
on 3/29/17 3:06 pm, edited 3/29/17 8:06 am
VSG on 01/05/17

The nutritionist at my surgeon's office weighed me in after I had attended the first informational session (had to attend that first).

Height 5'4 Starting weight: 225 Surgery weight: 216 Goal Weight: 135 Surgery date: 1/23/17 Portsmouth, NH

The little engine that could.....

califsleevin
on 3/29/17 3:31 pm - CA

It can be either, depending upon what specific rules your insurance company has. I used my PCP on a somewhat self-directed but officially physician supervised program. We (wife and I) started the program long before we checked in officially with the surgeon, though we were attending their support group seminars throughout the process.

1st support group/seminar - 8/03 (has it been that long?)  

Wife's DS - 5/05 w Dr. Robert Rabkin   VSG on 5/9/11 by Dr. John Rabkin

catwoman7
on 3/29/17 5:34 pm
RNY on 06/03/15