Orientation, Invisibility and Isolation in Guelph!

GUY57
on 9/14/17 7:10 pm

Hello my fabulous friends!

Today was my orientation day in Guelph.

I set up the cameras in my car and recorded the two hour trip from Oshawa to Guelph with an incredibly rambling diatribe about nearly every topic ever thought of in regards to WLS. Fortunately I'm a professional editor.... so I wasn't worried that I couldn't erase the entire thing if there were no usable moments. hahahaha!!

The presenters were excellent... but I couldn't help but feel we were all thinking the same thing. How fast can I get all the required appointments booked... so we could proceed with the surgery as fast as humanly possible. I wonder if having an online introductory video with all the information would streamline the process... and then orientation would be more of a question/support group session.

One interesting observation that perhaps people could expand upon... is the isolation of this orientation session. Everyone was quite courteous; however, there was zero interaction between people in the session. Was this the same for everyone in their orientation sessions? Was it because people were used to being invisible to other humans... so when brought together...they were invisible to each other? It was quite disconcerting. That being said... I was part of this isolated group of life travellers... so it is not a judgement about "THEM"... as I AM THEM.

Guy 57

Melody P.
on 9/14/17 7:37 pm - Amarillo, TX

I have been to two classes. I have felt the same. At my second class a woman starred at me almost the entire hour. It made me feel uneasy. I felt sort of alone in the group. Thankfully my mom is going with me dues to some social anxiety issues I have. If not then i'd really feel odd.