Transitioning to a pump

funkyphillygirl
on 7/10/12 8:49 am

Do we have any pumpers out there?  I had RNY about 9 months ago, and am in the process of deciding about a pump.  I've been injecting for 25 years and am finding that my blood sugars and hbA1c's are just not getting much better.  On the advice of my CDE, I'm strongly considering an insulin pump.

I'm concerned about the transition and just the overall change.  I also have anxiety about possible weight gain, although I am religious about carb counting now and keeping all of that in check.  I am still losing - and think I probably have about 20-30 more pounds left - not sure though.

What pumps do people have?  How has it been to use?  I'm really interested in any experience anyone is willing to share.

FYI, I am a type 1.5 - knew surgery would improve my health, but also knew that coming off of insulin would not be possible.  I have insufficient insulin production due to the autoimmune disease that destroyed my beta cells.  Any type 1's out there on pumps?

Thank you!

dpflorida
on 7/10/12 10:51 am - FL
VSG on 07/12/12
 I use a Medtronic Paradigm Minimed pump and have been for 3 + years. I was on Lantus and humulog pens for years prior to the pump. My overall control and a1c improved. I had deveoped antibodies against Lantus and it stopped working. Being on the pump makes carb counting a breeze. Once you get your settings right, you put in your fsbg then your carbs. Then the pump suggests a dose. You can choose to give all at once or do a "square" dose that lets you choose how long to let the bolus inject. This is helpful for covering the slower effect of fat and protein on your sugar.You can choose to give a certain amount to cover the carbs and the rest of the bolus is given slower and you can choose how long .