It's official, pre-op diet started and reality setting in...

no_more_rolls
on 6/24/11 6:07 am - Jackson, MI
I've known my surgery date for a while now, but so many things have happened along the way in the process I did not want to make an announcement until I was 100% sure nothing was going to change.  I think since I started my pre-op diet yesterday, it's okay to safe I'm safe!  ( I hope!)  

My DS is scheduled for July 8th with Dr, Kemmeter.  I am so excited, even though I am having a tough time with the mostly liquid pre-op diet that I will be on for the next 2 weeks.  

OMG I think the real reality set in as I drove past various restaurants and fast food places yesterday on my way to the doctors.  I mentally said my good-byes to all the things I know I will be giving up in exchange for a healthier life.  I've been preparing myself for this for over 2 years, why does it feel like such a big deal now?  I haven't had fast food in months!

Oddly enough, today at home I am fine.  I think I was bothered more yesterday by my reaction due to the thoughts of not having those things anymore.  Why should I have cared?  Do I have unresolved issues with food I didn't realize?  I've been food journaling for months.  Hopefully I am just reading into things and this is just normal pre-surgery anxiety.

Wish me luck!  ...or any words of wisdom?

~Roxy
Winning isn't everything, but wanting to win is.  
DONT BE AFRAID TO FAIL......BE AFRAID NOT TO TRY! 
highest weight 313/ surgery 255 / current 185 / goal 135  Height 5'6"

Julie R.
on 6/24/11 6:16 am - Ludington, MI
 Yay Roxy!  I can't believe how quickly you got the ball rolling with Dr. Kemmeter!
I'm gonna tell you  - the pre-op diet, for me, sucked.   I'd always considered myself a good dieter, and I was starving to death and an evil ***** for the entire two weeks.   I did lose ten pounds, and I'm sure I shrunk my liver quite nicely, but I was NOT a pleasant person to be around!

Julie R - Ludington, Michigan