Complex Carbs vs. Simple Carbs in Recipes - How do they affect you post-DS?

LadyLucky
on 9/29/12 7:46 am - KS
Sorry for the long post, I just thought I would finally bring up my concern and ask for feedback.

A main concern I have with the DS is how carbs will impact me after DS surgery.  I'm worried they will cause stool issues and/or upset my stomach.  Now, I know I'll be on soft foods and shakes for awhile after surgery, but I'm talking about what happens when I reach the "normal" eating stages.  I have read that noodles, dairy (except skim), fruit, etc. are simple carbs and beans are complex carbs.  I use all of these on a regular basis when cooking.....which concerns me.

Okay, not to have a big head, but I'm a pretty darn good cook.  My friends bombard me when they know I'm cooking chili, chicken enchiladas, sausage breakfast muffins, chicken noodles and any of my other famous recipes.   This may sound silly but as a single gal I practically live off of a handful of recipes and I fear most of them will cause issues post-DS.  Yikes!

One batch of each makes about 20 servings since I'm currently sleeved and can only eat about 6 ounces comfortably.  So I cook up each recipe every couple of weeks, freeze them in these handy little containers and I'm set for a 1-miinute microwave breakfast, lunch and dinner.  It's like I have my own little line of frozen meals and I love them all.  Ha!

So...can you tell me what makes you poop like you've never pooped before?  What gives you gas?  Or what is simply frowned upon with the DS?  Here are my main concerns:

Chili - I use pork and beans, chili beans, kidney beans, black beans, pinto beans, great northern beans, spicy sausage, brown sugar, hamburger and some other yumminess - I think the main issue might be the beans, which I can always cut back on but it's soooo yummy.  I know they are complex carbs so I'm hoping they don't cause as much of an issue, but I just don't know.