DS Recovery

jjordan8130
on 1/12/14 6:21 am

I wanted some information on how recovery went for those of you with DS. I'm in my last semester of nursing school and I'm thinking about having surgery over spring break. No time (even after graduation) is really ideal.....Spring Break is the better time only because my schedule during the semester isn't super busy. (This may not make any sense....but it's really not....) I have 11 days off for Spring Break and I can get an additional week out from school. 

Obviously there is no way to tell how my recovery will go, but I would like information from others about theirs.

Thanks!

larra
on 1/12/14 11:34 am - bay area, CA

You may get different responses from others, but for me, that would not have been nearly enough time. The metabolic changes of the DS are huge, plus of course it's major surgery with general anesthesia. I didn't have much pain, but I was exhausted, and it took a long time to get my energy back. And I had been working and active pre-op, so I was very surprised at how exhausted I became. It all worked out fine in the end, but the recovery was harder than expected.

Larra

jjordan8130
on 1/12/14 11:45 am

Thanks Larra! I really don't know what to expect. This is my first surgery, so I have no experience. 

tidligigi
on 1/12/14 11:47 am - Canada

My doctor gave me 3 months off after my DS surgery and I'm sure I could of went back to work after a month :) It all depends on the person. 

dustycroy
on 1/12/14 12:39 pm
DS on 05/14/13