New Runner - Injury vs muscle soreness

periwinklestudios
on 4/19/11 5:45 am - Silver Bay, MN
I apologize this is long.......

Hello everyone,

I am VERY new to running and I'm currently enrolled in a class "How to run a marathon". I took the class not to be able to actually run a full marathon (especially not out of the gate as a new runner) but to get assistance in a training program.

Things have been going very well and I have just completed Week 5 of my training. I have worked up to almost 5 miles (4.8) for my long runs and then I run 40 min. two days a week and walk (speed walk) 1-2 days a week.

My question is this, how do you determine injury vs typical training pain? After my long run on Sunday I felt great. No issues...little tired legs but was nothing serious. My run on Tuesday went just fine. No pain. Thursday my run went just as planned, no problems nothing different but on my walking cool down I noticed some pain creeping into my calf. (where the tendon meets the muscles) I attributed it to just some muscle tightness and continued on home and did my stretches. I went to work and noticed  that is was still bothering me (good 3 hrs after the run) and it continued to increase throughout the day. I iced it when I got home, used some muscle rub, and then elevated it. The next morning I was still pretty darn so but I could put pressure on it and walk. I wrapped it to give it some compression and then did not run or walk Friday or Sat.