Getting stuck on liquids now after a year no fills, can't see a DR??

Ashleigh P.
on 2/11/12 12:59 pm
Hey Lap Bandees and Everyone!

Its been forever since I had a fill/unfill and even longer since I posted. To make a long story short, I lost my job and insurance (yay economy!) and haven't been able to see the dr. Right before I lost my job, I was able to get an unfill and everything has been smooth til now. I haven't lost any weight, because it feels like I am not filled at all, but without insurance, I haven't been able to get a fill. Some food would still get stuck every so often, but it was never an issue til recently.

About a month ago I started getting stuck more frequently. I switched to clear liquids and mooshies, and some days I was able to eat, some days not much. I recently got added back to my mom's insurance (I am a student) but I am waiting for the insurance to complete the preauthorization paperwork before I can see my dr. They won't see me til that is done unless I want to have a huge dr bill which at the moment I really can't afford. 

So back to my condition...The past week has been hell. Mashed potatoes and other mooshy foods are getting stuck, so I went back to protein shakes. This morning at around noon I had a protein shake. I haven't had anything else today and now (9pm) I am burping up the protein shake and I feel totally nauseaus. Has anyone else had a situation like this? What can I do until my dr can see me? I'm STARVING and have no energy. I just want to eat something...It is driving me crazy!!   
Nic M
on 2/11/12 1:11 pm
I'd get in to see a medical professional as soon as possible. The ER, if need be. You might have a band slip if you can't even get protein shakes to work for you. My band twisted my stomach and caused any and all things I ate or drank to come straight back up. DON'T WAIT to get checked. You don't want the kinds of damage that comes with this.

Hope you can get some help and feel better soon.