Thoughts About Revision

Greg M.
on 9/21/12 11:56 pm, edited 9/22/12 12:22 am - Cincinnati, OH
Hello everyone.  I thought that I would check in as I haven't been here in a while.  As you can see from my signature, I am a veteran of four (4), yes count them 4 surgeries....installing the band, fixing the band, removing the band and building a sleeve.  I wanted to give my honest opinion about both surgeries for newbies and people that need a revision.

I was very successful as a lightweight with the band.  I lost 55 of the 70 lbs that I needed to lose in less than a year, then my band slipped out of position.  Actually, looking back, I think it started to slip very early on.  I always had trouble getting stuck and I could always feel the band inside of me despite having very little fill.  I was good about following the rules, chewed everything well, didn't drink with meals, solid protein first and on and on but still had the slip.

When I got full with the band it was like hitting a brick wall.  One extra bite would put me over the edge and I'd be miserable full for 4 or 5 hours, no joke.  That's the reason that I lost the weight "with a quickness" as my kids say.

My sleeve is very different, no hard brick walls, the full feeling is very subtle and I can push way past where I should stop.  I try not to do that, but honestly, it's easy to do.  I have lost most of the weight that I gained back over the 2-year period when my band was out, but these last 15 pounds are very stubborn. 

So if you are thinking about getting a revision, you need to be very honest with yourself about your eating habits and about your willingness to track your food, stay away from carbs, not drinking with and around your meals, concentrating on protein and non-starchy veggies.  Oh yes, and of course getting exercise!  If you're not totally committed to these behaviors, you will have a difficult time reaching your goal with a sleeve.