Confused

brezal_78
on 8/15/11 7:58 am - ME
VSG on 12/23/13
I am a full time college student and only have $4000 toward surgery. Anyone know a package that would fit my budget?
JJ_RN
on 8/15/11 9:28 am
Hi-
It really depends on the type of surgery you want. If you are "okay" with the band.-there are some that  will do them in Mexico for around $4000, however you will still have to pay for airfare with most plans. If you want another surgery VSG, RYN, or Mini-bypass the cost increases, but you don't have to worry about the additional costs like with the band. With the band you have to account for the costs of fills. Also you have to find out if any areas around you provide "Fills". I am also a college student ( grad school out of undergrad for 2 years) and saved my money to have the RYN and I am scheduled for a RYN on 12-15-11!!!  But there are a lot of factors and decisions that go into having WLS and choosing what type of surgery you will have is one of them. Please don't chose a WLS just because of the price. There are good and bad parts of each surgery.

I am using Dr. Verboonen with International Patient Facilitators and feel really good about him and his business partner/coordinator Sheri-.
Hope that helps
JJ
Jackie00
on 8/15/11 9:28 am
Not even in Mexico, sorry hun.  I have to take out a loan for this myself.  Hopefully there will be some greatful people around your area that might be able to help you.  I will be trying to pick up a 2nd job on my weekends when I recover and feel up to it to go out and make some more money to help pay off my loan.  Things are going to be tight for awhile but I will just have to budget very strickly, which is very difficult when you have kids and back to school stuff etc...
brezal_78
on 8/15/11 10:21 am - ME
VSG on 12/23/13