How soo did you get back to work?

Erin P.
on 6/13/04 1:03 am - Evansville, IN
HI!! I work in a Select Hospital-acute long term care ( vents-trachs-wounds ect.) I'm a floor nurse, so I do walk A LOT but my charting ... paperwork...ect I also sit ALOT. I have the option to be on a lifting but I don't think I'm going to have the option of not WORKING for 6-8 weeks! !!! I'm a fast healer ( I was back to work after hysterectomy in three weeks with NO problems.) so I'm wondering... I would like to go back after 3 weeks this time too. Possible? I'm having an open rny which I know is going to be harder than my hysty but... any input? thanks Erin
dapowers57
on 6/15/04 1:28 pm - NEVADA, TX
Hi Erin, I work in a family practice clinic on my feet alot and sitting for triage and call backs. I had lap RNY and went back to work in 4 weeks. Could of handled 3 weeks but I had 4 weeks vacation so I used it all. Don't go back too soon because even if you heal well your energy level decreases because of the lack of nutrition. Be sure to take yor vitamins! It took me a couple of months to get my energy level back up to par. A friend of mine had open RNY and did not go back to work for 8 weeks. Give yourself time to recoop. If you can you need to file under FMLA. Good Luck. Denise
Deborah W.
on 6/18/04 1:37 pm - West Hills, CA
Hi Erin, I work in an ophthalmology clinic and also on my feet allllllllll day. I had lap rny and went back to work 2 1/2 weeks after surgery. I remember being fall down exhausted when i came home that first day back to work. I should have taken more time off but the nurses at ucla told me people go back to work 1 to 2 weeks after surgery. So that is what I did. Those nurses that told me that need to have abdominal surgery and then try going back to work that soon. Be good to yourself and go back when you feel you are ready. Good luck dEbbie
sheryn
on 1/4/05 7:10 am - Clarita, OK