paying for bariatric protein shakes and vitamins

spectrumsister
on 10/7/10 1:25 pm - Buffalo, NY
I know this is probably a frequent question, but I am wondering if there are any suggestions regarding ways to cut costs for bariatric protein shakes and vitamins.

I'm a grad student right now, so instead of having money I OWE money, big time.  I can only work a few hours a week because of my classes and internship, and the only way I get groceries now is because I receive Food Stamps. The only reason I'm able to get the surgery is because I have a Medicaid managed care HMO, so there is no costs for me, and with all my co-morbidities it's more costly to "leave me fat" than to help me lose weight! However, Food Stamps won't cover bariatric protein shakes, even though they are the major "meal" after surgery and a primary source of nourishment.  Furthermore, Medicaid won't cover such products either.  

The only thing I have found thus far that might help is if I can get a prescription for Fleming Pharmaceutical's "ProBarimin QT" and maybe Medicaid would pay for it because it's medically necessary.  I know it's not the greatest bariatric vitamin and I'd have to take 2x the recommended dose but I don't see how I could afford any of the other bariatric vitamins!  

I did hear from somewhere that Bariatric Advantage has a program to help people get their vitamins - apparently your surgeon fills out a form for them.  Has anyone heard anything about this?

Does anybody know of anything else that might help cut costs or help pay for bariatric shakes and vitamins?

Surgery Date: 12/13/2010 - Wish me luck!
LovingTim
on 10/11/10 12:32 am
Hello,

I wouldn't be the best advice here as I am trying to learn, with my husband, our best options still and how all the pre-op stuff works. He hasn't been cleared for surgery yet. They have him on this annoying counciling requirement that's going no where.

Anyway...