My Weightloss Journey - 1 yr later (with pics)

boogyshoes
on 1/17/12 12:55 am, edited 1/17/12 12:58 am - Newmarket, ON, Canada
This time last year I was on the table having my insides rearranged with a Roux en Y Gastric Bypass surgery at TWH. It was a very difficult decision to make, and a difficult process to get on that table, but one year later I can only find relief that I finally got the help I needed.

After a lifetime of battling my weight and losing the battle, I think I had just gotten to a point of surrender. It just felt like such an impossible uphill battle that I knew with dedication and perseverance I could win (again) in the short term, I'd given up ever winning in the long term. I needed help. I'm not good at a) admitting that, or b) asking for it. Sucking up my pride and doing so was the hardest thing I've ever done.

As you guys know, it's still not effortless with this tool (you should have seen me Sunday having an emotional battle with myself in Sobeys over a bag of Potato chips).  But I've been given the gift of a kick in the right direction. I have 20 more lbs that I would like to lose, and then a lifetime of making good choices and not letting my bizarre emotional connection to food override my common sense. I have a lifetime of moderation ahead, and that is a good thing.

But more importantly, I have a LIFETIME ahead of me. At 300 lbs, I couldn't say that. I couldn't give that to me, or my husband, or my kids. Now I can.

And it's wonderful, and I'm so grateful. I'm grateful that my kids fit on my lap again. I'm grateful I can enjoy going sledding with them (let me tell you, dragging 300 lbs up a hill repeatedly is no fun, but when you consider mass x gravity = velocity (sort of) - 300 lbs hurtling down a hill is downright terrifying). I'm grateful that I can move, and breathe, and live my life again.

Thanks to everyone here for all the amazing support along the way!