A Bit Frustrated!

pynkSparklyBling
on 8/6/16 12:19 pm

So, I finally had my appointment with my family doctor yesterday and asked for a bariatric clinic referral. I had documented all the times I had lost weight in the past (and gained it back), all the times I had gone to him or anyone else for help in losing weight.  I also told him about how I have been trying to lose some weight for the past six months, showed him my food log (that was done using MyFitnessPal).  I went to him about six months ago, and he put me on a strict diet (about 900 - 1000 calories a day).  I have been following it diligently, and have only lost 15lbs (about .5 lb a week). I am tired all the time, hungry and cranky.  I have PCOS and pre-diabetes and have been asking him over two years to consider putting me on Metformin.  I am doing the hard work, eating crap I don't like, and following exactly what he says to the letter.  

I have been considering WLS for about three years and I finally had worked up the courage to ask him for a referral to the clinic here in Guelph.  He told me I wasn't working hard enough and I should go down to 800 calories a day (is that even safe?) and increase my exercise by 45 minutes. I am already working out an hour a day (cardio and strength training) 6 days a week.  When I started this diet, I was 287 lbs.  I'm now 262lbs but I feel I am working very hard for very little in return.   I also feel that considering my history with yo-yo dieting, I need this tool to have any sort of long term success. I am at the point that I am considering switching family doctors but I really don't know what to do from here.  Have any of you experienced this?  I am not sure where to go from here. He is denying me a referral and I don't know what to do.  

(deactivated member)
on 8/6/16 12:32 pm - Brampton , Canada
RNY on 09/12/17

Hi there! 

Im sorry your doctor isn't being very helpful, if you feel the need to switch I'd definitely recommend it.