Weight gain

Sharon B.
on 5/19/09 3:54 am - Brooklyn, NY
Revision on 11/21/11 with
I am sure this has been discussed previously buy I am new to this message board, having hung out at the Lap band board all these years I just found this one.

I am 20 weeks pregnant. I have had a band for 3 years and have been maintaining my weight for about 1 year.

I started this pregnancy at 159 and now I have gained about 4 pounds this pregnancy. Its my 6th pregnancy and my first one post band. In all my other pregnancies I gained 50-60 pounds and then some. So I am in unchartered territory here.

I would love to hear from other "losers" particularly Bandsters that had healthy normal pregnancies gaining minimally.

I dont want to loosen the band because I know that I am capable of putting on 30 to 40 pounds if I do.

Of course my first priority is a healthy baby but if I can manage healthy baby AND skinny mommy at the same time........

vwilliams
on 5/19/09 4:16 am
Well I am not a bandster but 4 pounds at 20 weeks sounds damn good to me. I have an unusual situation as I have "Binge Eating Disorder" therefore have trouble keeping a straight frame of mind. I don't see any portion as normal and keep eating. I keep using my pregnancy as eat everything I want to excuse. I did with my daughter and gained 70 pounds. Granted I did lose it but it was freaking hell!! I starved and was mean most of the time. I am having trouble again this time keeping the weight down, I am 29 weeks and gained 35 pounds. I maintained at 180 for years only because I would binge, starve, binge, starve I run a vicous cycle which I have just started to finally get help for. Good Luck you seem to be doing just fine.
tripmom02
on 5/19/09 6:01 am - NJ