Post op pregnancy questions

Lishamc1
on 11/26/17 9:31 am

My husband and I were trying to conceive before I had the RNY. Of course unsuccessfully. How long did you wait after surgery before trying again? How much weight did you gain during your pregnancy? Did you have trouble losing the baby weight? I know they recommend waiting a year to a year and a half before conceiving but just looking for input.

Highest weight: 265, surgery weight: 245, surgery date: 9/11/17 RNY m1: - 26 m2: - 14 m3: -15 m4: -10 m5: -8 m6: - 4 m7: -6.5 m8: - 1.5 m9: -3 m10: - 0 m11: - 2 m12: -0

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 11/29/17 12:05 pm
RNY on 08/05/19

The recommendations are there for a reason, you're best off listening to your doctors' advice rather than random strangers on the Internet ;)

I had my IUD removed 13 months after surgery and was pregnant three weeks later. I had been maintaining for two months and my blood work looked OK, both of which were required before my surgeon would give the OK to start trying.

I was 145 when I got pregnant, gave birth at 191, and was 183 when I came home from the hospital. I've been working for two years to get the baby weight off and it's been incredibly difficult since I lost my WLS honeymoon "groove."

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

Lishamc1
on 11/29/17 5:26 pm

I plan on waiting until doctor gives me the ok, just wanting to hear stories of pregnancies after weight loss surgery. I am worried about the regain and how difficult the loss will be. Blows my mind at the people who are pregnant 6 weeks or even 6 months after surgery. I had the iud placed a week before surgery because I don't want to conceive until I am healthy enough to carry

Highest weight: 265, surgery weight: 245, surgery date: 9/11/17 RNY m1: - 26 m2: - 14 m3: -15 m4: -10 m5: -8 m6: - 4 m7: -6.5 m8: - 1.5 m9: -3 m10: - 0 m11: - 2 m12: -0